Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2015, 06:08 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Edinburg
Posts: 3
AC vs Microwave Use

I have a Jayco MBH23 and we love it but when we use the microwave we have to turn off the AC as the both of them pull too much power when used together. Is there anything that can be added or corrected to get the 2 to work at the same time? We are totally new at this but love this trailer.
__________________

adelldu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 06:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
I can run the A/C and the microwave at the same time. However if the water heater is set for electric and it comes on that will trip the breaker. Other things that could put you over 30 amps if they were on at the same time would be a toaster, hair dryer, coffee pot, electric space heater, large fan connected to an outside outlet or your battery is low and charging heavily.
__________________

__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cosmik Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 555
Is it tripping the breaker in the rv or where you're plugged into, or on generator?
Another item to add to the above list is refrigerator. We sometimes switch ours over to gas to run other electric appliances, then back to auto.
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 09:19 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Edinburg
Posts: 3
It is tripping the breaker in the RV not at the main power box.
adelldu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 10:14 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
krsmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 329
Even though our 5er is only 30amp service, I use a 50amp pigtail and plug into the 50amp service on the pedestal when available. That seems to have helped a lot. I also have a voltage booster device that can boost park voltages when needed. Between the two I have drastically cut popped ckt breakers.
__________________
Ken Smith
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLIS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 CTD
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 10:17 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Edinburg
Posts: 3
What type of voltage booster do you use? That makes a lot of sense.
adelldu4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 10:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by krsmitty View Post
Even though our 5er is only 30amp service, I use a 50amp pigtail and plug into the 50amp service on the pedestal when available. That seems to have helped a lot. I also have a voltage booster device that can boost park voltages when needed. Between the two I have drastically cut popped ckt breakers.
The 50 amp outlet will not help adelldu4's situation as he is tripping the RV breaker, which is a 30 amp, not the pedestal breaker. The voltage booster should only be used if the supply voltage drops and stays below 110V.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 11:26 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
krsmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 329
The 50 amp outlet helps me...using the 30amp by itself the ckt breaker would pop on the pedestal. Having to go outside to reset. Using the 50amp outlet, the breaker pops in the rv itself...save me the trip of having to go outside to reset.
__________________
Ken Smith
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLIS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 CTD
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 11:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
krsmitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by adelldu4 View Post
What type of voltage booster do you use? That makes a lot of sense.
Hughes Autoformer

https://www.hughesautoformers.com/in...=16&Itemid=101
__________________
Ken Smith
2016 Heritage Glen 272RLIS
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 CTD
krsmitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 11:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: north central Iowa
Posts: 304
Here is another voltage booster.
Voltage Booster
__________________

__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2013 Ford F350 Crew w/ 6.7 diesel
sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.