Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2015, 02:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Tobyhanna
Posts: 9
Electrical question????????

Hi everyone, Very new to this website,but would appreciate any answer you could give regarding an issue I will soon be involved with. I have a new Jayco 195 RB ive used a few times,but now will be camping at a site that con only offer me 15 amp service. I would like to know,since the equipment was manufactured for 30 amp service,if I plug into the 15 amp using a reducer plug,can I run the air conditioner? IF I do not run any other electrical items ,I plan on using the propane gas for the fridge,and that will be all??????? any advise? THANKS ALLOT
__________________

jerseyteamster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 03:02 PM   #2
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,046
If your Air Conditioner is 15k btu, it may be damaged. Some take that chance, I would not for anything but a short time.
Check all connections for heat buildup if you decide to risk it.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 03:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 1,181
If memory serves me right, the A/C pulls 13 amps by itself. I have been to a park with 15 amp service, and was able to run the A/C, but NOTHING else. I do remember tripping the breaker once, but I don't remember if it was on compressor start-up, or I tried to use the toaster. Maybe someone else will chime in with more up to date stats on A/C, as that was on a 85 MH. The plug may get warm on your cord, so be careful
__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 03:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Western New York
Posts: 138
You are walking a thin line and might possibly trip the pedestal breaker.

If you do attempt it, get a quality dog-bone adapter, and not that cheap cylinder adapter plug. Check often for adapter getting hot.

I would also feel better if I had one of those EMS systems that you could monitor the voltage and current. If the voltage gets too low, you could damage your AC.
LkptRvPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 03:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: CENTRAL NEW YORK
Posts: 768
There is at least one state park in NY that says 15 amp but when I got there, they had 30 amp. Maybe you will get lucky..
__________________
2013 33 RLDS
2004 Chevy Avalanche 2500 8.1
2007 TBSS
2001 Oldsmobile Aurora
2015 Chrysler 200C AWD
33 RLDS is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 04:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 802
It is almost a given that it will shorten the life of your AC. If everything else including your converter is turned off and if you were using some sort of voltage monitor and were diligent about watching for low voltage, you could probably squeak by. Without experience on what to watch for and when to shut it down, you ARE walking a very thin and precarious line. Take it from one who has cooked an AC thru ignorance!!! It happened to me when hooked up to 30 amps but the campground was underpowered. You may get away with it that weekend but it will come back to haunt you months later. And if you are under the illusion that warranty will take care of it, not so. There is a diode that goes first and it always is caused by low voltage. That diode will immediately void your warranty.
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2015, 04:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by LkptRvPilot View Post
You are walking a thin line and might possibly trip the pedestal breaker.

If you do attempt it, get a quality dog-bone adapter, and not that cheap cylinder adapter plug. Check often for adapter getting hot.

I would also feel better if I had one of those EMS systems that you could monitor the voltage and current. If the voltage gets too low, you could damage your AC.
X2

I would also install a hard start capacitor in the AC. This will help with startup. I do not know how much power the frig pulls. But if you want force it to only use it in propane mode (12V control power). You need to open the service panel and unplug the 120V power supply. Otherwise it will automatically switch to AC power if it senses it.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.