Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-23-2014, 03:02 PM   #1

Fulltiming in a SLX 185RB?

Hi everyone, I'm a soon to be newbie (taking delivery at the end of March) and will be diving right into full-timing. I'm not new to camping, but have never owned (or towed for that mater) my own trailer (don't worry, I plan to take it slow and stick close to home until I get my sea legs). Like all newbies, I have a ton of questions. Here is one: Does anyone out there have any experience full timing in these smaller/lighter trailers, and do you have any suggestions about how to make it a self contained unit? The TT will have only one 12V battery. I'm thinking I will need a 2000W generator with an inverter. Is that off base? I could add another battery too, but the CCC on these light weight trailers is very low. I'm going to need to travel light. Thanks for any insights you might have! - Tin Lizzie
Tin Lizzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:35 PM   #2

Welcome to JOF, Tin;

What is your tow vehicle? A strong tow vehicle can help make up for limited space and capacity. If you have the money for it - I would go for solar and plan on extra battery capacity. You'll also want to get a good quality roof vent fan and vent covers....a battery monitoring / amp draw modification would be a must.

Do search in the archives for "Lightweight camping" ...and spend your time going through the boondocking and full-timing sections for starters.

Good luck
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 07:24 PM   #3

Thanks Three B.,