Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-09-2016, 08:15 AM   #1

Ham Radio In the Jayco RV motor Home

I am new to RVing but been around Amateur Radio (HamRadio) for many years. Looking for thoses that are interested in setting up amateur radio in the RV. I have recently purchased a Jayco Melbourne RV. I have begun trying to set up a radio station as a portable unit in my RV.
I am interested in adding a battery to the Jayco Melbourne and solar panels.
I am now trying to find an entry way to the Jayco to bring in necessary cables for hooking up the radio.
I also have many questions that come up with the Jayco Melbourne.
Any one out there that has anything to add to the discussion of Ham Radio in the RV motor home.
Garry K9WZB
gfisher100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 05:18 AM   #2

I just have a dual band HT Garry, ICOM 51A+. I work local fm repeaters when am in range, but mostly DStar. DStar allows me to talk virtually anywhere without external antennas. I know, no HF, but......

I use a Verizon smartphone as a hot spot and I get on DStar when remote using a Raspberry pi and DStar Commander image. Works great.

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50X, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 07:34 AM   #3
M&A

+1 on the PI with DVMega and DStar Commander. Running an ID-31A portable with an 880 in the Jeep (TV). I hang on 7B working a couple friends in FL and UK. 30C is fun while mobile.