Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2017, 01:32 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kingman
Posts: 27
Hello From Not so sunny AZ

We picked up our new 2017 Grayhawk 31FK on Dec 6th and had it winterized by the dealer. Since it has been cold here in AZ I was trying to figure out how to put the proper load on the Generator so I can run it for an hour like I was instructed to do every month. Thank you for all the great info I have gotten here since joining this forum you all sure have a bunch of knowledge that you share and I have learned a lot.

SSGCharlie
__________________

SSGCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 01:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 8,884
Hello from a bit further south in AZ (a valley, but not 'THE valley' ).

Do you have an electric heater you could plug in an outlet for a load? How much load is recommended?
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescue Eydie (min Schnauzer) & Charley (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Nights Camped: 102 '15, 90 '16, 80 '17, 161 '18)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, Camper pkg, Equal-i-zer, GY Endurance (E)
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 01:48 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kingman
Posts: 27
Thanks for the reply no I do not have an ele heater but I can purchase one if needed. I do not know how much load I need to put on the system so what size heater do I need?


SSGCharlie
SSGCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 01:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 4,533
CONGRATULATIONS on the JAYCO!!!

...and WELCOME TO JOF!!! The members here are GREAT!!! There is a lot of GREAT information to be found here. I am sure that you will have information and pictures to share with us... so please do!!

Don

My REGISTRY
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
250Watt Grape Solar Panel, MorningStar MPPT 60 Charge Controller
1500 Watt Ramsond PSI, 2 Trojan T145 Batteries (260Ah)
2 - AirSight Wireless IP Cameras (used as rear view cameras)
EnGenius WI-FI extender, D-Link wireless (n) modem
MagicJack Internet Phone
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73
157" Wheel base, HD Towing Package

Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 02:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 34
We just got ours around the same time. My son parked it by his house and during the "showoff" evenings, he ran the generator. Pick up from dealer with 42 hrs on it and when son returned it to us, had 110 on it, 4 days later. Went in for first service and oil replaced, air filter and ......sparkplug! Was a tad surprised. Tech said spark plug was "gunked up". I found that odd with a brand new MH. But I guess that could be due to the "showoff" run?? But son generator was on for several hours at a time.... when we picked it up, the dealer did quick start/stop of generator several times, as did we in learning what to do....best is to just let it run?
__________________
Paul & Judy Bowen
4 Bedlington Terriers
2017 Jayhawk 26XD
JudyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 02:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSGCharlie View Post
We picked up our new 2017 Grayhawk 31FK on Dec 6th and had it winterized by the dealer. Since it has been cold here in AZ I was trying to figure out how to put the proper load on the Generator so I can run it for an hour like I was instructed to do every month. Thank you for all the great info I have gotten here since joining this forum you all sure have a bunch of knowledge that you share and I have learned a lot.

SSGCharlie
We have always used an air conditioner or two to place a load on the generator no matter what time of year.

Welcome to JOF.
Please feel free to join our AZ Jayco Owners group;
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/gr...co+owners.html
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 03:34 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kingman
Posts: 27
Just went out to start the gen and would not start the battery is dead. I have been hooked up to 120 volt house outlet since bringing motor home home. I had the main disconnect switch off should it be on to charge the battery?
SSGCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 05:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Desert RVers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Rancho Mirage, CA
Posts: 702
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the new Jayco! On our tt, the battery disconnect has to be turned on to be charged when plugged in to shore power. Not sure about the motorhomes though. Hopefully someone else will offer their advice soon. Happy camping!
__________________
Diego the German Shepherd & Family
2006 Toyota Sequoia
2015 Jayco Jay Flight 23MB Elite
Previous RV's, 1988 33-foot Barth Class A and 1994 Flagstaff Pop-Up
Desert RVers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2017, 05:52 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kingman
Posts: 27
Thanks for the info it probably the same since it didn't charge with switch off. I hope the battery isn't ruined.


SSGCharlie
__________________

SSGCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.