Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2019, 07:40 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Alamo
Posts: 8
Question New 2020 28RL owner here. Electrical Question.

My 28 RL is set-up with dual air conditioners - 13.5 over the bedroom and 15 over the main living area. If I plug in to a 30 AMP site, can I only run the main living area air conditioner without hurting my camper? Or, should I not use any air conditioning at all. BTW....Thank you for allowing me to join this group.
eteacher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Explorer03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 377
If you are plugged into a 30AMP circuit, you can use one or the other, but not both ACs at the same time. Keep in mind when the AC is running you will not be able to use the microwave at the same time on a 30Amp circuit. You will need to shut down the AC until you are done with the microwave.

You need to take a look at what you are using and determine what amount of AMPs are used to run that item (AC, microwave, coffee pot anything plugged into an outlet and is "on"). You are limited to the amount of amps provided by the circuit you are plugged into. In your example you are limited to 30Amps. The AC and the microwave are the biggest draw on the Amps. Often overlooked as big Amp pullers are hair dryers and toasters
__________________
2022 F250 6.2L 4.30 Lariat Crew Cab
2017 Jayco Jay flight 28BHBE
Equalizer 14K Brand WDH (2.5" Shank)
2013 Jayco Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
CMSgt USAF (Ret)
"GO BLUE". University of Michigan
Explorer03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:57 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Alamo
Posts: 8
Thank you. I am an Air Force Vet as well. I was looking at the camp sites at Garner State Park, and a bunch of the only offer 30 AMP service. It surprised me as with my pop-up, I could plug in anywhere with plenty of juice to run anything. Now with my new trailer, I am noticing limitations of types of campsites due to amperage. Again, thank you for your reply.
eteacher44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 10:01 AM   #4
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Explorer03 View Post
In your example you are limited to 30Amps. The AC and the microwave are the biggest draw on the Amps. Often overlooked as big Amp pullers are hair dryers and toasters
Don't forget electric water heaters too (if the rig has one) and even the converter to charge the batteries. They draw a lot of amps too.
RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.