Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2016, 10:37 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rumsey
Posts: 11
I can't find any serial number. Do you know where they are located on a Jayco Quest? The trailer is in immaculate condition. The grill has never been used. It's perplexing that the propane doesn't even get to the grill or stove.

It probably is too late for this trip. I should costed defeat and enjoy it as a rolling tent.
__________________

gettleshtetl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:05 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
Ok, one step back in the process.... Are the propane tanks full of propane

And the tank valves are open

Is there a left/ right regulator valve in between the two tanks
__________________

__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:10 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
The fact that you are not getting propane at the stove or grill, and that the stove, grill, heat and fridge all use propane, says that at least you have a problem with propane supply

Empty tanks
Closed tanks
Tank selector switch
Hose ( broken, kinked )
Old/ bad regulator
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:26 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: north central Iowa
Posts: 304
If you have checked all of the previous suggestions I would be suspicious of a defective regulator. I think the original propane tanks are old enough that they cannot be refilled unless they have been updated with new valves ( or the tanks replaced) .
__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2013 Ford F350 Crew w/ 6.7 diesel
sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:36 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rumsey
Posts: 11
I have two new tanks. Tried both of them.
I so appreciate all of your comments.
gettleshtetl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:40 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
NVGun40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Eagle River, AK
Posts: 810
A fifteen year old rig. Perhaps it is possible, albeit highly unlikely, but perhaps possible that your rig has the old manual style fridge, heater and stove wherein you had to light pilot lights?

I know the industry started to move away from this during the 80s. Yet, I have met one person who had a 1997 rig, which required a pilot light to be lit on the fridge before operating on propane.

In my old 5'er, I had to manually light the pilot on the stove top (I could also just light a single burner with a lighter, but if I wanted the convenience of just turning the burner on there was a pilot to be lit.), oven, and water heater before using them on propane.
__________________
We are just a humble drinking couple with a hunting and camping problem.
2015 White Hawk 25BHS Glacier Package
2004 Dodge Ram 2500, 5.7 Hemi, 5Spd Manual
2008 Arctic Cat M1000 SnoPro
Previous: Northface tent/Komfort 5er/Jamboree MH
Lance Cabover/Prowler TT/WildernessTT/Tiltin Hiltin Cabover/Starcraft popup
NVGun40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:43 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
Ok, good.

You still have an issue with the left/ right selector or the hose.

Not much else inbetween the tank and the burner in the stove
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:44 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rumsey
Posts: 11
It has a manual igniter which I think is for the fridge. When plugged into 110, the heater and fridge work. I'm not sure if it works on 110 and gas, or just 110. I can't figure out how to light the igniter. It has instructions but they don't work. It seems like the propane is not getting to the igniter and the stove. I guess the regulator may be the problem.
gettleshtetl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:45 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rumsey
Posts: 11
There is only one tank connected at a time. I'm not sure what the left/right selector hose is. So I probably don't have one.
gettleshtetl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 11:50 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
On my propane system, the hose connects to the propane tank, then runs a short distance to valve where the other tank hose also connects.

This has a left/ right / center selector.

Left= left tank
Center = auto select.

Manually move this switch to the tank that you have connected

Go open the stove burner valve and wait about 20 seconds....

Do you smell gas?
__________________

__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.