Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-09-2018, 05:58 PM   #1

Ready to fill out credit app on 2018 284BHS

Hi. My wife, 2 kids, 1 dog and I are ready for our first travel trailer or camper of any kind for that matter. We shopped all day Saturday and liked the Jayco 284BHS the best. Probably a little big for our first one but the price is right and the wife really likes the layout and room inside. Our kids are 4 and 2 and are really excited about camping.

Im definitely concerned about the quality as Ive heard and read a lot of horror stories. I am a mechanic and certainly am not afraid to fix things myself but also don't want a $20,000 POS. I will be buying from a local family owned dealer that is literally 5 minutes from my house so I hope warranty repairs won't be to much of a headache. Im so new to everything and have a lot to learn. I will definitely use the PDI checklist as best I can when taking delivery. I will be towing with a 2014 Ram crew cab 1500. 5.7 8 speed with 3.21 gears. Wish i had the 3.55s but from what I've read on the ram forums i should be ok. Ill take any tips or pointers anybody wants to throw at me. Like maybe sway and weight distribution?
Thanks!
gunner18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 06:24 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner18 View Post
Im definitely concerned about the quality as Ive heard and read a lot of horror stories. I am a mechanic and certainly am not afraid to fix things myself but also don't want a $20,000 POS.

-

I will be buying from a local family owned dealer that is literally 5 minutes from my house so I hope warranty repairs won't be to much of a headache.

-

Like maybe sway and weight distribution?
Thanks!

Your choice looks great for your family size!!!