Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-06-2017, 03:04 PM   #1

shopping for our first coach

Hello folks!

Well here's our intro...
My wife and I are shopping for our first coach!
I work in IT and she's in the legal field. We each work from home some but are in the process of transitioning into fully remote positions this year so while we will be full time RV'ers we won't be retired, plus we are a little younger than most full timers, in our late 40's. We hope to be on the road by June 2017. About six months ago when we got the bug to do this, neither of us knew anything about RVs, but after countless hours on Youtube and reading hundreds of posts online at a dozen forums, we've narrowed it down to a slightly used Seneca or if I get my choice, an Embark. We like the power and massive torque on these models compared to the somewhat under-powered V10 that seems to power most coaches these days. We've watched a ton of videos showing those coaches struggling up hills. Plus most of the smaller Class C's don't have a high enough ceiling anyway. We were originally sold on 5th wheels, but switched over to Class A's, then found out how they're basically death traps in a collision, then found the C's and finally Super C's. I'm 6'5'' so I need a tall ceiling, and it seems maybe 10% of the coaches on the market can accommodate. We're already minimalists, and we're only going to be towing a little Kia Soul. No pets or kids, just us, so it will seem like a mansion!

If you would be so kind as to allow me to utilize your years of combined experience, I have a few questions off the top of my head (I have a list somewhere).