Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-18-2015, 09:59 PM   #1

Question Total Newbie - to RV's

My DH and I are thinking of entering the RV world. In our earlier years we wilderness backpacked; later did the whole boating scene, and now in our older years we are wanting to explore the USA (occassionaly with grandkids in tow). We are currently looking at a new 2016 Jayco Precept 31UL.

As you probably suspect, we know absolutely nothing about RVs and would appreciate any advice offered. Several questions come to mind -

1) Scratchig our head about getting around once we setup camp. Realistically, I think we will want to get out and explore countryside, town, eateries, etc. Ideas around toads, other options, etc. welcome.

2) Best training resources (manuals, videos, YouTube) about setting up and breaking down camp.

3) Thoughts on Jayco models (an any specifically around Precepts Class A, 31UL model)? Top price for 2016 models?

4) Best, must do, RV vacation site you have experienced...

Currently, we are not retired (sigh). Which means, right now our motorhome will be used for vacations (and any weekend get-aways). If this thing really takes off for us, we could possibly see ourselves moving to full time Rv'ing in our retirement years. (Of course, that will be a whole other thread )

DH loves to fish; I love to draw. Keep in mind that we currently do not own a vehicle large enough to tow a travel trailer, 5th wheel, etc.

All thoughts, advice welome my friends.
JanzRv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 05:30 AM   #2