Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-09-2016, 08:01 AM   #1

Why no air dryers on the Senecas??

So when I got my unit I found the air tank drain valve way under neath, so I added a line and mounted the drain on the generator frame so I could drain it daily. Every time I did this it was full of rusty water. I contacted freightliner and was told the unit had no air dryer, I then contacted Jayco and was told they do not spec their units with air dryers. As a heavy duty mechanic I realize the importance of clean dry air for proper air bag and brake function so am now installing one cost 2700.00 out of pocket seems like something Jayco should be doing as freezing air systems could be a safety factor . Any one else experience this?
ready2retire&drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 08:33 AM   #2

Our previous motorhome a 40' diesel pusher which rode on a custom chassis built by the same large company had the filter. Where it was mounted always made it a pain in the neck to change.
It's wise that you are able install a drain and filter system. It's hard to imagine why Freightliner wouldn't have the system on an air-equipped chassis.
Perhaps the "disconnect" happened between Freightliner, the chassis extender company, and Jayco.
abarkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 06:13 PM   #3