Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-09-2014, 01:11 PM   #1

Get back on your damn treadmill

Memo to the ‘lady’ that interrupted my conversation with another gentleman at the Gym yesterday ….

Lets get this straight – I am a Viet Nam ERA Veteran. I never served “In Country”, but would have if the Army had assigned me there. I was assigned to a Military Police “Garrison” unit of Fort Carson, Colorado. My job was to “Hold the Fort” so to speak… someone had to, and that was the job of a Garrison unit …. to ensure continued operation of Ft. Carson while many troops were overseas - including my best friend that didn't come back.. I was assigned to “Bar Patrol” downtown Colorado Springs. Patrolling the ‘off limit’ establishments, “removing” service personnel and breaking up various bar fights where the many Army and Air Force personnel were involved. Was that “Combat”?? I can tell you that I DID have to defend myself against someone that was in the act of shooting my ass …. I can tell you that I DID have to fire my weapon and injure someone that was in the process of harming my partner… call it what you want, but don’t ask me if I’m a “Veteran” if I didn’t serve in Viet Nam. Yes lady, I’m a US Army Veteran who served when called, and did it with pride and to the best of my ability. Am I a Viet Nam veteran? No. I served in the US Army during the Viet Nam War, and was told to “Hold the fort”.. However, we were all brothers and we all had our individual jobs to do – some overseas, and others in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Yes lady, I AM a Veteran despite the physical location of my service …. And extremely proud of it. Now get back on your damn treadmill and quit interrupting us.
Old 05-09-2014, 02:10 PM   #2

Thank you for your service.
Old 05-09-2014, 07:44 PM   #3