Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2012, 05:01 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
mcfarmall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, West Michigan
Posts: 1,814
GPS emergency

I went to download a bunch of GC's to my GPS last night and they wouldn't transfer. I tried using the cable from my car GPS and that wouldn't work either. The handhelds cable works with my car GPS so I think the cable is good. I'm really bummed as we are camping next week, my alternative is to enter the Lat/Long in manually for each cache and the prospect that I may have to replace a handlheld that I really like. The hand held is a Garmin GPSMAP 60.

The interface setting is set correctly for USB and the unit has not experienced any unusual drops, exposure, etc.
__________________

__________________
2006 23B Hybrid with 10k round bar WDH
2011 F150 4x4 SCREW Ecoboost, Max Tow, Integrated TBC, 3.73 LS axle, Firestone Ride Rite airbags.
mcfarmall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
dalenoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: SE, MI
Posts: 3,517
Mcfarmall, go and post your question on POI Factory and you might get a good answer. That site is for only Points of Interest for all GPS units.

I maintain the files for LCMS churches in MI, MI campgrounds, discgolf courses, and rest areas.

Good group for your question.
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco 322FKS, Hemi, Hensley, Oreo the Malshi, DW and I

Tracking campgrounds with Ultimate Campground Log
dalenoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 05:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
mcfarmall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, West Michigan
Posts: 1,814
UPDATE After a couple of phone calls to Garmin, it appears there may have been a couple of problems. First they blamed EasyGPS as being sometimes finicky and incompatable due to being a third party software package(?). So I installed the Garmin BaseCamp software which is very nice by the way. I used 7Zip to unzip my pocket Query from Geocaching.com, imported it to BaseCamp and sent it to the GPSMAP 60. No problem, right?

Well, I pressed Find, Geocache, and the display said "none found" so now I was again disappointed. I called Garmin back and explained it to the support staff and he said to do a search "By Name" and they should show up, which they did!! Apparently, when you do a Find, Geocache, the unit only searches in about a 50 mile radius of the current location. When you search "By Name" it pulls everything up, so the bottom line is all is well.

Thanks to everyone for you suggestions!!
__________________
2006 23B Hybrid with 10k round bar WDH
2011 F150 4x4 SCREW Ecoboost, Max Tow, Integrated TBC, 3.73 LS axle, Firestone Ride Rite airbags.
mcfarmall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.