Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-22-2015, 09:59 AM   #1

4212 vs Heartland 4200

I am new to the RV world, however my wife and I have decided to take a plunge and go full time starting next year. Until a few weeks ago, we were set on a Jayco Seneca 37HJ. Done deal. Then we started evaluating 5th wheels because we will have a daughter with us and she wants her own space. (kids, Ugh). Then we happened on the Heartland 4200 toy hauler. I LOVE The layout. We fell in love immediately, but because I was already sold on Jayco I looked, and found, the 4212. Looks to be nearly the EXACT same. That said, the 4212 is about 10k more. So now, I am asking for help. I need to know where the 10k quality/difference is. Someone help me as I have been super pumped about Jayco, but I need to sell my wife on the cost. Any help you can offer is appreciated. BTW, I posted something similar on Heartlands forum, and am not impressed so far with the replies. But need to gather data on the major differences. Please advise. Keep in mind, my concerns are quality, support should something break or not work right, and durability as we will be living in it full time.
norton0428 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 10:28 AM   #2

First, I don't think Heartland offers a two year warranty. Also you need to look closely at the construction of the cabinets etc. What are standards vs options.

JAYCO has always been a price point higher than most other similar units, but I would personally not buy any other brand.
Old 09-24-2015, 07:26 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by norton0428 View Post