Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-18-2018, 09:34 PM   #1

Power distribution

hey Everyone wanted to share a solution to power distribution. I’m an engineer by trade. I got to wondering why this past week while I was at a fantastic RV Park (Northlake RV Park Roanoke TX) running all three AC units during the heat of the day....I smelled something hot. After checking everything, to my surprise, the breakers on one side of my electrical panel were extremely warm....actually HOT. The breakers on the other side of the 50 amp 2 pole master were warm but not hot. Obviously there is a problem. After checking terminations no problems found. No lose connections on the buss bars, neutral buss bar, or ground buss bar. I began to focus my attention on the load distribution.

Currently as shipped from factory:
Phase X 50 amp left side
15 amp washer dryer (used for dedicated outlet for Quartz 1500 watt heater for garage/office in winter only).
20 amp garage AC unit (15K btu 12 Amps 1440 Watts)
15 amp GFI kitchen and outside perimeter
20 Amp Center AC (15K btu 12. Amps 1440 Watts)
15 amp rear cargo utility outlets (current office space with 1500 watt UPS with 500 watt avg load)
20 amp Progressive PD 4500 converter (variable load up to 1500 Watts)

Phase y 50 amp right side
15 Amp bedroom, entertainment outlets. (3 Amps 360 Watts)
20 Amp bedroom AC (15K btu 12 Amps 1440 Watts)
15 Amp water heater (12.5 Amps 1500 Watts)
20 Amp Microwave / Convection (16.6 Amps 2000 Watts)
15 blank
20 blank (fireplace option)

Total load can not exceed 12000 Watts or 6000 Watts per Phase @ 120 volts for 50 amp shore power. 5500 Watts @ 120 volts 45 Amps for generator.