Jayco RV Owners Forum
 



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2018, 09:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Wusaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: DeBary, FL
Posts: 59
Seismic hard wired EMS

Howdy all. I have a 4212 and was wondering if anyone had installed a hard wired EMS on board? I have looked to see how and where and due to the power cable plug placement I am at a loss as to where I could install this device. I did a search and could not find any mention of anyone doing such an upgrade to a Seismic. Thanks for any and all help / suggestions. Have a GREAT day.

Rob
__________________

__________________
2017 Seismic 4212
2004 F350 DRW CC XLT
EGR Delete, SCT X4 tuner, Blue Spring Upgrade
7.3 Fan clutch upgrade, Mishimoto coolant filter
Airlift bags on rear
Reese 20K hitch
2005 H-D Screamin Eagle (Banana)
Wusaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 04:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,478
My opinion is you should install close/behind the power panel. The cable from the outside connector probably runs directly from the plug to he panel.
__________________

__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 11:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Black Jack
Posts: 53
Was looking to add mine to this new camper. We have a 4113. Did you have one installed? I was thinking it would be best in front of the transfer switch. Not sure if the generator would work well on startup with it.
CHV_FRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 10:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Loboclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 360
I had a Hardwired EMS on our 4212, mounted it next to transfer switch. HOWEVER is failed 6 months after install. Cost a fortune to have an Electrician remove it due to failure while on the road. I will never hardwire again, buy a good on that attaches at the pedestal and call it good>
__________________
2015 F-450 XLT 440 HP Power Stroke 26.5K Custom Resse F/W, Manual Regen, 19.5 Rubber
2014 Oreion Sand Reeper 4x4 Toy steel everywhere, street legal and licensed, 5 speed manual, 3 cylinder DOHC "Chery" engine and 2 door fun.
2015 Jayco Sesimic 4212 Extreme Weather Package, Dual Pane Windows, Side and rear Patios, 480 watt Zamp Solar Pkg 6 AGM batteries, Residential Fridge, custom Dishwasher, 5500 watt Onan and lot of problems.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/me...albums843.html
Loboclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 03:35 PM   #5
Member
 
Wusaah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: DeBary, FL
Posts: 59
I agree with Loboclone and that is what I did. I bought a good portable and avoided all the PAIN of installing the hard wired. It made for terrible access.
__________________
2017 Seismic 4212
2004 F350 DRW CC XLT
EGR Delete, SCT X4 tuner, Blue Spring Upgrade
7.3 Fan clutch upgrade, Mishimoto coolant filter
Airlift bags on rear
Reese 20K hitch
2005 H-D Screamin Eagle (Banana)
Wusaah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 05:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loboclone View Post
I had a Hardwired EMS on our 4212, mounted it next to transfer switch. HOWEVER is failed 6 months after install. Cost a fortune to have an Electrician remove it due to failure while on the road. I will never hardwire again, buy a good on that attaches at the pedestal and call it good>
If a progressive, the only part that fails is the board...which they ship you a new one and you plug it in... It's only 4 wires in and out, should be a 15 minute job for an electrician... half hour if it's hard to get too. A hard wired gives you so much more information at hand, than a portable unit...and no worry about it getting stolen.

I've had both, much prefer that hard wired...

Good Luck..
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 05:47 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Black Jack
Posts: 53
Did you mount it before or after the transfer switch? I'm looking st reinstalling my previous unit.

I have had a hard wired for 10 years with zero issues that were created by bad power. No reapirs ever needed. The plug in unit doesn't have the same functions as the hard wired I don't believe..... I take that back. Looks like that have a new model. Didn't see that when I looked earlier this year. I don't know if it displays all the information but it would be nice having it inside.
CHV_FRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 10:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Loboclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 360
to hardwire in a Seismic it is under the steps behind a panel. How would you access any information from it? You can see at the pedestal both legs and voltage info. Hardwired is out of sight.
__________________
2015 F-450 XLT 440 HP Power Stroke 26.5K Custom Resse F/W, Manual Regen, 19.5 Rubber
2014 Oreion Sand Reeper 4x4 Toy steel everywhere, street legal and licensed, 5 speed manual, 3 cylinder DOHC "Chery" engine and 2 door fun.
2015 Jayco Sesimic 4212 Extreme Weather Package, Dual Pane Windows, Side and rear Patios, 480 watt Zamp Solar Pkg 6 AGM batteries, Residential Fridge, custom Dishwasher, 5500 watt Onan and lot of problems.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/me...albums843.html
Loboclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 11:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 2,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loboclone View Post
to hardwire in a Seismic it is under the steps behind a panel. How would you access any information from it? You can see at the pedestal both legs and voltage info. Hardwired is out of sight.
Hardwired model you can get remote read. Place it where its easy to see..much easier than running out to the pedestal every time you want to check it.
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 12:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,407
Much prefer hardwired. Wire it after the transfer switch so it'll verify genset power also. Gensets can go snaky and cause problems also.
__________________

__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jacyo, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.