Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2017, 03:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Abilene
Posts: 42
2017 Precept 31UL Outside TV

We've had our Precept a few months but today was the first I've tried to setup the exterior tv for over-the-air (NOT cable) reception. Can anyone tell me if the exterior tv comes wired for over-the-air reception? Both inside TVs, living area and bedroom pick up about a dozen channels where we are currently parked, but the exterior tv only finds 2 channels. I also noticed in doing the setup on the 3 TVs that the two indoor TVs appear to search through channel numbers twice while the exterior goes through them only once. I've repeated the channel scan several times with the same results. My guess is that the exterior tv is not connected to the antenna. Any help/ suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Jim Day
Abilene, TX
2017 Precept 31UL
2010 Chevy HHR Toad
Jday7757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wentzville
Posts: 272
Presumably the push button with the tiny green light is supposed to direct antenna signals vs cable signals to all three TV's, with no ability to "split" them. Let's hear from other owners on this subject, see how theirs works. I don't have access to my 31UL at the moment or I would check it out for you.
chasfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Abilene
Posts: 42
Thanks, that's what I thought. Just for the heck of it, I pushed the button off and all the TVs went to "no signal" (as expected) so I pressed it again to get the signal back to the TVs. The strange thing is that outside tv does find 2 digital over-the-air channels but not all the ones the other 2 TVs find.
__________________
Jim Day
Abilene, TX
2017 Precept 31UL
2010 Chevy HHR Toad
Jday7757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wentzville
Posts: 272
That could require some dogged detective work. Clearly something isn't right. I guess what I would do would be to, just as a test, lash up a different tv connected to that outside cable connection, to rule out a problem with the tv itself. See how many channels it receives.
chasfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,858
What brand of tvs do you have? In my house, I have a Visio and a Sony. Both are hooked up to the same antenna, but the Sony will pull in more channels than the Visio. Could be a better tuner in the Sony.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel B&W Companion Hitch
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 04:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Abilene
Posts: 42
Witt74, all 3 TVs are Furions, but different sizes/models.
__________________
Jim Day
Abilene, TX
2017 Precept 31UL
2010 Chevy HHR Toad
Jday7757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 05:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,858
OK, next I would check the coax connectors. Look for loose connectors or improperly installed connectors, mainly on your outside tv as this seems to be the problem area.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel B&W Companion Hitch
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 05:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,858
Ok, next I would check the coax connections at the outside tv, as this is where the problem seems to be. Check that the connector to the tv is snug (finger tight) and that the connector itself is properly installed on the cable (gentle tug). If you can trace the cable back to the antenna booster, there should be a splitter inline that sends the signal to the othe tvs. Could be a bad connection at the splitter.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel B&W Companion Hitch
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 05:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witt74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Picayune
Posts: 1,858
Sorry, first reply was slow to show up.
__________________

Charlie & Lizzie the Mini Dachshunds
2008 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 30.5 RLS
2015 F350 Lariet Crew Cab Long Bed 6.7 Diesel B&W Companion Hitch
24 hours in a day, 24 beers in a case. Coincidence? I think not.
Witt74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 07:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Akron
Posts: 45
Turn on the antenna amplifier inside the cabinet with the switch box. Small push button on the coax plate. On my unit switch 2 is the over the air antenna.

Sent from my QTAQZ3 using Tapatalk
Keetters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:46 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
The Logans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: North Western West Virginia
Posts: 671
The Furions are one of the problem child's of the electronics world. We had 3 bad ones before we finally gave up and replaced them all with Samsung smart TV's.

I think that Jayco got the message about the Furions (the probably spent a fortune replacing them), as all of the TV's in our new Alante are Insignias (the Best Buy brand). So far, no problems with them.

You may very well just have a bad tuner in the outside TV.
__________________
The Logan's
2018 Jayco Alante 31v
Me, Dear Wife,
2 Bluetick Hounds
1 Newfoundland
1 Newfoundland / Black Lab Mix
1 Cairn Terrier
The Logans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 09:54 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wentzville
Posts: 272
Are you sure you have made the right signal source selection for the outdoor tv on the tv distribution control panel?
chasfenwick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.