Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-16-2022, 08:33 PM   #1

Car for Flat Tow - Advise

Hi. I'm looking for a used car to flat tow with my Alante 27A. None of my cars works for flat tow. Looking around here in Florida.. I found a CRV EX-L 2009 with 206k miles on it.. in very good condition.. only two previous owners and thinking of getting that one and doing the prep in order to be able to flat tow th unit... Seller wants $5600 for the unit.. I am not a car expert.. no mechanic.. nothing - nada.. Of course I will get a mechanic to check the car first but wondering if buying a car with that high of a mileage .. if it is good and also how much for getting the car ready for flat tow.

1. Tow Bar
2. Base Plate
3. Suplemental Braking System
4. Safety Cables
5. Tow Bar Wiring
6. etc

Thanks for the help.
Old 07-16-2022, 09:16 PM   #2
CAG

Quote:
Originally Posted by embeleco View Post
Hi. I'm looking for a used car to flat tow with my Alante 27A. None of my cars works for flat tow. Looking around here in Florida.. I found a CRV EX-L 2009 with 206k miles on it.. in very good condition.. only two previous owners and thinking of getting that one and doing the prep in order to be able to flat tow th unit... Seller wants $5600 for the unit.. I am not a car expert.. no mechanic.. nothing - nada.. Of course I will get a mechanic to check the car first but wondering if buying a car with that high of a mileage .. if it is good and also how much for getting the car ready for flat tow.

1. Tow Bar
2. Base Plate
4. Safety Cables
5. Tow Bar Wiring
6. etc

Thanks for the help.
You might start by searching flat tow and toads because this site is literally full of previous threads on this topic, what equipment to buy and what works and what doesn’t.