Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2015, 02:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
Electricity problems, please help! 2016 Precept 29 UR

I just received our new Precept 29 UR, and when I tested everything for the first time all was working well. now we are about to take a trip and no electricity is coming to the 12V systems. The generator is running good and sending the 110V out. The microwave, Tvs , 110v outlets have power. But the lights, fridge, lights are not working (not getting power). The switch (main power switch)at the doorsteps is not lighting on. Does anybody know what could be the problem or how to fix it? Any help is geatly appreciated from this RVing newbie!
__________________

Chavo_mx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 03:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 11,209
I am not familiar with your unit, but I'm sure someone else on this forum may be able to help. Answering a few questions may help that someone help you:

When was everything working OK?

Have you checked the RV circuit breakers?

Are you in your driveway or a campground?

When you are plugged into shore power, do you then have 12 volt power?

When the generator is off, do you then have 12 volt power?
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescue Eydie (min Schnauzer) & Charley (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS, GY Endurance (E), Days: 102 '15, 90 '16, 80 '17, 161 '18, 365 '20
2006 Ford F350 PSD, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, Cmpr. pkg, Equal-i-zer 4-p, ContiTrac TR
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 06:33 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 5,194
What is the voltage at the battery(s)? How long was it sitting since the last charge? Check the main fuse by the battery(s)?

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73,Max Tow Pkg.
Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 07:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Midlothian, Tx.
Posts: 145
check the switches on your converter
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 07:36 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
Found the problem!

Thanks for the replies friends!
The problem was that the 12V feed cable that goes to the chassis batteries was connected by mistake to the negative instead of the positive.. This was done by the welder that made the custom bumpers for me, and disconnected the batteries to weld...
After troubleshooting ALL the cables, fuses, relays, switches, with an electrician, he finally found the mistakenly connected wire.

By the way, does anybody know if I can plug the shore/city power cable to 220V? The label on the cable says 110/220. This is a 2016 Precept 29uR with onan marquis gold 5500 generator, 50amp supply.
Chavo_mx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 07:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chavo_mx1 View Post

By the way, does anybody know if I can plug the shore/city power cable to 220V? The label on the cable says 110/220. This is a 2016 Precept 29uR with onan marquis gold 5500 generator, 50amp supply.
As long as it is a standard 4 wire.

2 hot, 1 neutral and 1 ground.
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 08:03 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
But the appliances I am not sure if they are 110/220 dual voltage.. i am afraid of frying them ����
The owners manual sucks, hardly gives you useful info.
Chavo_mx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 08:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,313
They are not dual voltage. A 4 wire RV plug gives you 2, 110 volt legs. It has to be a 4 wire connection, not 3.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 08:47 PM   #9
Site Team
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 5,194
Do not trust and electrician, because MOST or them are not familiar with RV shore power wiring. Before letting anyone (yes,even a Professional electrician) touch the wiring, download a diagram of how the 50 amp RV outlet should be wired for an RV, and have them wire it according to the diagram. One wrong connection and it could be VERY expensive for you.

Don
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73,Max Tow Pkg.
Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 05:57 AM   #10
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 16,552
Agree, Many professional electricians are not familiar with the electrical wiring of power for rv's.
The best thing is to discuss and go over the diagrams or at the least assure that he has experience in this area of electricity.

If he thinks it's "just like Dryer" or something like that, your antennas should go on alert.

Major damage to your appliances and electronics can occur if it is wired incorrectly.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box, PT50C EMS
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS
2017 GMC Terrain (future TOAD)

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 06:55 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 8,313
Quote:
Originally Posted by norty1 View Post
Agree, Many professional electricians are not familiar with the electrical wiring of power for rv's.
That is usually a problem with 30 amp service since it is only 110. Shouldn't be a concern with 50 amp since it is 220.
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 07:42 AM   #12
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 16,552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
That is usually a problem with 30 amp service since it is only 110. Shouldn't be a concern with 50 amp since it is 220.
I have heard and seen stories that cause much concern!
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box, PT50C EMS
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS
2017 GMC Terrain (future TOAD)

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:33 AM   #13
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 238
"After troubleshooting ALL the cables, fuses, relays, switches, with an electrician, he finally found the mistakenly connected wire."

That should be the choices for electrical issues: get professional help or up-skill yourself by starting with taking some rv electrical classes, not forum free-for-alls.
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 08:48 AM   #14
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 16,552
Correct knowledge is great no matter where you get it. You do have to be careful when trying to get experience. It can be costly.

Maybe you should have asked that question to the electrician who was there at the time?
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box, PT50C EMS
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS
2017 GMC Terrain (future TOAD)

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 10:59 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
That is usually a problem with 30 amp service since it is only 110. Shouldn't be a concern with 50 amp since it is 220.
X2 A 50 amp service IS wired the same as a "dryer". Two 120 volt lines come into your RV and in your panel it is then fed to different circuits. The problem comes in wiring 30 amp plugs as it is easily confused with a 30 amp 240 plug, rather than 120 30 amp plug. Good Luck.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS


wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 01:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
D&MAKAFUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: KC MO
Posts: 358
Chavo mx1.......WELCOME TO THE FORUMS AND CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR 29UR.
We have a Precept Owners Group...........come and join us.
At the top of this page, click "community", then click "social groups". When that page comes up, click on the "Precept" icon/pic and sign up (no fee). As of right now we have 99 members........you could be the 100th.
There have been 238 threads with bumper to bumper discussions. No one has added bumpers to their Precepts and I am sure there will be conversations if you start a thread with your intro.
Glad you found your mis-wiring and no damage was done.
See ya on the POG.
Darrell
__________________
Darrell, Mary & K.C. Toller Mix
In our hearts: Goldens, Tess & Jericho
'15 Jayco Precept 31 UL "Bertha"
'13 Wrangler Sahara...AKAFUN
Roadmaster base plate
Ready Brute Elite towbar and brake combo
D&MAKAFUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 01:01 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 4
Thank you Darrel!
From my phone I cant find the community page to join, but I will try later tonight from my computer. I will post pictures of the front and reae˝r bumpers I had made. They are to protect all that hugely exposed fiberglass corners. I am driving in Bolivia and Argentina where the roads are not that great.

This new precet is sure giving headaches though... After my first "electrical" issue was solved, now we cant open the main slide. Only the rear slide is working. I cant find a diagram or instructions as to where I can locate the slide motor and controller to manually override and open/close this way.

Do you have any info/suggestions? Checked the fuses and they are ok.
There s no RV dealers in Argentina so we are on our own and our main trip starts this Friday. (dakar rally)
Chavo_mx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 05:03 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
D&MAKAFUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: KC MO
Posts: 358
Chavo mx1, here is a link to the manuals for Precept. Hopefully you have a bundle of materials that was provided when you bought the RV. They would cover slides, stove, AC, furnace, steps, stabilizing jacks, etc, etc. There normally is a booklet referencing the slides. Owner's Manuals | Jayco, Inc.

However, you might be better off/quicker results, by calling Jayco Customer Service. Make sure you tell them you want to speak with someone in the motorized division customer service. Jayco CS has been tremendous with many of us when we have had difficulties.
Roger Johnson
Customer Service Manager
Jayco Motorhome Division
Providing you - Generations of Family Fun
Jayco, Inc.

Ph: 1-800-517-9137
Cell: 574-333-1985
Fax: 574-825-6091
Email: roger_johnson@jayco.com
I wish you well on your journey and correcting the slide challenge.
Darrell
__________________

__________________
Darrell, Mary & K.C. Toller Mix
In our hearts: Goldens, Tess & Jericho
'15 Jayco Precept 31 UL "Bertha"
'13 Wrangler Sahara...AKAFUN
Roadmaster base plate
Ready Brute Elite towbar and brake combo
D&MAKAFUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
convertor problem, electric problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×