Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-12-2017, 02:21 PM   #1

First time buyer.

I am new to the RV world. I became interested in buying an RV because my sons live on opposite sides of the country and I thought travelling to see then in an RV would make good sense. I like the Jayco Class A units because of size, price and standard equipment. All the bells and whistles look great, but I need to know what I am getting into. I need to know about what you don't see on their web site. What items are missing that I should definitely add and what is lacking? Thank for your help in advance and don't forget, I am new at this.
soccs11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 04:14 PM   #2

We are new too, looking at the Alante 26 X or 31 have no experience at all saw these at an RV show
jmrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 05:10 PM   #3

Before you buy, RENT! Rent a class A for at least a week to make sure you're going to be OK driving a giant box around. Before we got into the RV life 20 years ago we rented a tent trailer twice for two summer vacations and then bought. There is a learning curve to towing or driving an RV and then you have to see if you like being in RV parks and interacting with close neighbors.
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 05:16 PM   #4
Site Team

Another thing is the initial cost and the cost to properly maintain your investment.

If you are fairly handy. you can learn to do much of the maintenance and repairs. If not you can quickly find that it is expensive to maintain.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 05:37 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus

Class "A"'s have additional expenses versus a TT.