Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2019, 07:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Exclamation Furnace not working

I have a 2016 Precept 31UL. Iím pretty sure we checked this when we bought it, but this is the 1st time I have attempted to use the furnace and it does not work. I have seen some posts on the forum talking about wet motherboards and swapping them out, but I want to make sure I have done all the rule-out steps before that.

I set the thermostat for heat and cranked the temperature up and nothing happened. Did hear the blower, and I donít hear propane kicking on. The owners manual is zero help. I checked the 15 amp fuse and it seems ok.

One thing puzzles me. When the fridge is on propane, I hear it kick on under the fridge like a little jet engine. Is this the same nozzle that runs the furnace?

What steps should I take prior to replacing expensive things?
__________________

xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:21 PM   #2
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,297
If this is the first time firing up the furnace, it may take two or three cycles before the propane gets there, and ignites. It's a completely separate system than your refrigerator, so no to your question on that. Light a burner on the stove for a minute to help it along the way. Cycle the thermostat a few times, and I'll bet it works. The blower comes on first, actuating the sail switch, which is what controls the propane regulator on the furnace. If the ignitor fails to light the furnace within a certain period of time, it shuts off. Then you cycle the t-stat, and the process starts over, and hopefully the propane has reached the furnace. We usually have to do this about three times before ours catches, and it's a short trailer. give it a go, and let us know if it works out.
__________________

__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Route 66 Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 333
If the furnace is an Atwood there is a reset switch on the top, front, left side of the furnace...if it’s mounted in the horizontal position. The thermostat should be set to Heat with the fan switch on Auto. I assume you have verified your stovetop is working to ensure that there is indeed propane available.

The fridge is very quiet on propane and usually can’t be heard from the inside. The furnace and water heater on gas are a lot louder...not quite as loud as a jet engine.

Others here will chime in with other suggestions, I’m sure......
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Iíve tried it about a dozen times. When I switch to heat I hear a click in the thermostat. A few times I thought I heard something else Ďclunkí. The blower never came on either.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 08:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 Traveler View Post
If the furnace is an Atwood there is a reset switch on the top, front, left side of the furnace...if itís mounted in the horizontal position. The thermostat should be set to Heat with the fan switch on Auto. I assume you have verified your stovetop is working to ensure that there is indeed propane available.

The fridge is very quiet on propane and usually canít be heard from the inside. The furnace and water heater on gas are a lot louder...not quite as loud as a jet engine.

Others here will chime in with other suggestions, Iím sure......
Itís an RVComfort HC Coleman-Mack. So I donít know if thereís a reset switch. Iím not exactly sure where my furnace is. Iím thinking itís behind 10 screws where the fridge propane outlet is. Not easy to get to.

I did have the stove burner on for quite a while during my tests.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
I stand corrected. The manual does reference it as an Atwood. And after seeing an unrelated YouTube video, I see it is behind the grate under the fridge. So far I donít see any reset switch.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
I took the grate off and looked inside. The video mentioned the “super secret reset switch” being next to the red and black wires going into the unit. I do see a small rectangle hole next to where those wires enter, but it is located inline with the wall. Meaning, I can’t get a finger in there nor can I use my lighted inspection mirror to see what’s in the hole.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:26 PM   #8
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,297
Here's a troubleshooting guide, maybe it'll help.

https://www.rvforum.net/miscfiles/Furnace_Trouble-2.pdf
__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Route 66 Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 333
The reset switch is an ordinary rocker type switch . Mine is on the opposite side of the case from where the wires go into the furnace. It isn't in a hole in the case.
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 06:53 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
hawkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: frankfort
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraymiller View Post
Iíve tried it about a dozen times. When I switch to heat I hear a click in the thermostat. A few times I thought I heard something else Ďclunkí. The blower never came on either.
The first thing that happens when things work right is the fan comes on to evacuate propane gasses. This is before propane turns on and is lit. Sounds like the furnace is off or there is not 12 volts to the furnace.
hawkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 07:34 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
JohnWedell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Riverhead, Long Island NY
Posts: 771
If the blower fan comes on to pre-purge the system and you do not hear the sparking from the igniter it could be either the high limit thermostat or the sail switch.
This may make it clear.
https://youtu.be/-g3_Y7MqChE
__________________
2018 RAM 3500 DRW, 4X4, 4.10, 6.4 Hemi, Curt A20 hitch, Tire Minder
2018 North Point 315rlts with most of the options.
Dish Hopper With 2 Joeys & Birdog Meter
JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:28 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Route 66 Traveler View Post
The reset switch is an ordinary rocker type switch . Mine is on the opposite side of the case from where the wires go into the furnace. It isn't in a hole in the case.
I saw that in a picture after I wrote it. The rocker switch probably isnít in the hole because it wouldnít fit with the wall being directly inline with it by only millimeters.

Iíve been plugged up to shore power this week and the batteries show full on the power panel. I plan to take the panel off the outside of the. And have a look. They might have moved the switch, or maybe thereís no switch.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:31 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWedell View Post
If the blower fan comes on to pre-purge the system and you do not hear the sparking from the igniter it could be either the high limit thermostat or the sail switch.
This may make it clear.
https://youtu.be/-g3_Y7MqChE
As I said, the blower motor does not come on. When I had the grate off and turned the thermostat on I heard absolutely nothing from the furnace.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:53 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Dbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Jackson
Posts: 102
Take off the outside cover/grill. You will find on the left/center side(right above where it says Atwood Mobile Products) there is a on/off rocker switch make sure that is on. It may have been turned off by the dealer for some reason. So check it and make sure that is on and try again. Hope this was it.
Attached Thumbnails
atwood furnace.jpg  
__________________
2015 Jayco Precept 31UL w/15000 miles
With CHF and Roadmaster Steering Stabilizer.



Dbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 11:05 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
JohnWedell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Riverhead, Long Island NY
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by xraymiller View Post
As I said, the blower motor does not come on. When I had the grate off and turned the thermostat on I heard absolutely nothing from the furnace.
This is what you said.
ďI set the thermostat for heat and cranked the temperature up and nothing happened. Did hear the blower, and I donít hear propane kicking on. The owners manual is zero help. I checked the 15 amp fuse and it seems ok.Ē

You said you heard the blower. Sorry I answered you.
__________________
2018 RAM 3500 DRW, 4X4, 4.10, 6.4 Hemi, Curt A20 hitch, Tire Minder
2018 North Point 315rlts with most of the options.
Dish Hopper With 2 Joeys & Birdog Meter
JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 11:17 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Route 66 Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbrown View Post
Take off the outside cover/grill. You will find on the left/center side(right above where it says Atwood Mobile Products) there is a on/off rocker switch make sure that is on.

That's the first time I have seen the switch INSIDE the case! Mine is mounted so that I have to remove the whole furnace from the RV in order to get the front cover off...maybe that's why mine is mounted with the switch exposed on top of the case.


At any rate hope the swtich is the problem....
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 11:57 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWedell View Post
This is what you said.
ďI set the thermostat for heat and cranked the temperature up and nothing happened. Did hear the blower, and I donít hear propane kicking on. The owners manual is zero help. I checked the 15 amp fuse and it seems ok.Ē

You said you heard the blower. Sorry I answered you.
Sorry, typo using the ipad. That should read didnít or did not hear the blower. Should have read it again before sending.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:05 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Gainesville
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dbrown View Post
Take off the outside cover/grill. You will find on the left/center side(right above where it says Atwood Mobile Products) there is a on/off rocker switch make sure that is on. It may have been turned off by the dealer for some reason. So check it and make sure that is on and try again. Hope this was it.
I took the outside cover off to have a look. The rocker switch is in there. It was switched to RESET, so I turned it to OFF and then back to RESET.

My motherboard is located horizontally in the middle of the opening (to the left of the fridge exhaust. I see some cob webs underneath it. Upon close inspection, I see what looks like some corrosion. The internet is poor here so I cannot post any pictures.

I have a multimeter with me, but with all those wires, I have no idea which to test.
xraymiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:38 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Route 66 Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 333
Have you tried it since you cycled the switch? If that didn't work try removing the furnace 12 volts by removing the fuse for the furnace. Wait a few minutes and reinsert the fuse. I assume you have checked the fuse all ready...


If your knowledge of electronics is limited and you do not have a wiring diagram or schematic it might be to your advantage to seek out a mobile tech in your area. Might save you money in the long run....
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 12:46 PM   #20
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,297
Check out the videos available from here. This fellow is very methodic in his videos, and they may help.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...0utYK7sVOKwXVY
__________________

__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×