Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2016, 02:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 377
The GFCI senses current between the hot and neutral. If there is any current flowing from hot to ground the GFCI circuit will open. Most likely there is a neutral wire tied to a ground wire or a ground tied to a neutral. I would start at the panel and make sure all the grounds are landed the ground bus and the neutrals are landed the neutral bus. There is also the possibility of a defective appliance or in an outlet box the bare ground wire is making contact with the screw on the neutral on the receptacle.
Vic
IBEW Electrician 33 years
Seattle Local 46
__________________

Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 02:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 377
Reply to BuddyRay: Using an undersized electrical cord will cause an over current problem at the load this in tun will cause the voltage to drop and the motor now runs on less voltage causing more amperage to be drawn. You basically chocked the heck out of your AC motor and it burned up or the thermal overloads opened protecting the motor. I used a 10guage extension cord that I made and plugged it into a DEDICATED 20amp receptacle. The resulting voltage drop was less than 2 volts with the AC running. I test with a Fluke 84 true RMS meter.
__________________

Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 02:13 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
shadester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Upstate N.Y.
Posts: 331
Are you sure that extension cord is ok. I'd try that first.
shadester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 02:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 377
Good point Shadester, the cord should be checked to see if there is any continuity between the neutral and ground using a ohmeter or multimeter.
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2016, 04:24 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
You should not plug your RV into a GFCI circuit. There are capacitors and MOV's in the RV converter that are connected between hot/ground and neutral/ground. A small amount of leakage in these devices will trip the GFCI. Sometimes you can get away with it. Most times you won't.

Have you noticed the 50 and 30 amp receptacles at the campground are never GFCI? This is why. Only the 20 amp outlet is GFCI and it is not intended to connect the RV.
__________________

__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery charge, household current, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.