Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-17-2018, 07:23 PM   #1

Jayco 36T vs. 36A vs Georgetown 36 B5

Hello all.

I am a relative newbie (we have rented a class C prior) in the market for a class A bunkhouse RV. My wife and I have narrowed it down to three finalists, two of which are Jayco models. The three we are deciding between are the Georgetown 5 36B5 and the Jayco models 36T and 36A. We definitely need a bunkhouse, and with three daughters we figure the extra bathroom will come in quite handy.

Can any of you folks advise me of some of the important differences between the 2 Jayco models that I should take note of? Any strengths or weaknesses of each model, mechanically, ride quality wise, etc.?

The 36T would be a 2018 and the 36A would be a 2019. It appears that they dropped the 36T to change to the 36A, but other than that I'm not sure what the main differences are other than the floorplan and that the 36A uses a residential refrigerator (I do not know it that is an upgrade or not). I'd like to know if one has a better ride than the other, or if there are any known issues with either of these models that I should be on the lookout for.

I'm happy to hear thoughts/opinions on the Georgetown as well if you folks have anything to offer.

I greatly appreciate any guidance you all can provide. I have never run across anything as difficult to sort through as shopping for an RV. It's quite a lot to take in and attempt to digest.

Thank you all very much for your help.
Chilkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 08:29 PM   #2

Since all are based on the Ford F53 chassis (I think I'm right on the Georgetown) I would get the one with longest wheelbase (for best ride) and 22.5" wheels.

We looked at the Georgetown mainly because we were owners of a Forest River fifth wheel.