Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-07-2021, 07:26 AM   #1

New Member Question - RV GPS Worth the Investment?

I'm new to the forum and wanted to introduce myself and ask a simple question. I've been pulling/driving RVs for the last 6 years or so. I recently had my motorhome stolen over the Memorial Day weekend (that might be a later post) and was fortunate enough to replace it with a 2020 Jayco Precept 36a. I love the forum and already have found several items to help me with modifications (that might be a later post as well) I've been living and breathing this motorhome to get it ready for my next trip which leads to my question.

I've been doing this for several years and have never owned a RV specific GPS. I'm starting to travel out west more now with a major trip to Colorado in a couple of weeks. I'm looking into possibly investing in a Garmin 785 GPS to help mostly with grades and curves as I know Colorado can be an adventure.

Money is a little tight right now as I have had to replace every single item that I lost from my older Georgetown 33B3 that was stolen including my old tow bar setup. Would the 785 be worth the investment over my phone and Google Maps? Is there a better unit in the same price range?

I did do a forum search (I'm not a total forum noob - lol). I didn't really find anything that helped me with my specific question. I would love to get some experienced, wise answers.

Thanks!! Excited to be in the forum and hope I can contribute in the future.
apgarrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 07:57 AM   #2

This is just my take. I'm happy with Google Maps and RVParky. I also use Recreation.gov and reserveamerica. I do have an old regular Garmin that I sometime use.
Jim Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 08:38 AM   #3

Thanks Jim. I'll have to take a look at Rvparky. I've never used that site.