Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2016, 07:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 31
Precept 31UL coax prewire

We are planning to install a dome satellite on the roof. Jayco says it is pre wired and sent me a schematic which was a bit confusing but customer service has clarified it a bit. My question is has anybody had success with locating the factory coax prewire on the front roof?
__________________

Rider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 12:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mowdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Las Vegas!!
Posts: 158
No help on a 31UL but my 35UN had wiring right where Jayco said it would be. The Winegard Travler was my choice of dish. All wiring needed was present right where it should have been and install went smoothly.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Precept 35UN
Towing JEEP TJ with Roadmaster plates and bar w/Blue Ox Patriot brake
OR
an Aluma low bed trailer with HD Road King and/or Polaris RZR onboard
mowdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 03:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 31
Coax

Quote:
Originally Posted by mowdoc View Post
No help on a 31UL but my 35UN had wiring right where Jayco said it would be. The Winegard Travler was my choice of dish. All wiring needed was present right where it should have been and install went smoothly.
Thanks. That is very encouraging. Jayco customer service has been very helpful sending me a location diagram and coax wire schematic. Now I hope my dealer has an install man capable of installing it using the information.
Rider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2016, 10:11 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
tinman353's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Goshen
Posts: 29
I used the print received from Jayco Service to locate the spot to drill on my 2015 31UL. Just took a deep breath and drilled the hole ... and presto, I ended in a Styrofoam void in the roof but could not see any wires. I stuck a mirror and light in the hole and found where the coax and control wires were hiding. Then with a wire hook and a couple tries I got them fished out of the hole and was on my way to hook up the dish.

Good luck
tinman353 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 05:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 31
coax

Thanks for the encouragement. I will be drilling next week.
Rider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 09:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
D&MAKAFUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: KC MO
Posts: 358
Rider99, I can't help with your question. However, WELCOME AND CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR PRECEPT.
We have a group of 118 (and growing) Precept owners on the Precept Owners Group.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/gr...39;+group.html
Come join us. There are many topics of conversation and so far 288 threads.
I know there would be many of us that would like to hear of your mod and especially if you do step by step.
Look forward to seeing the results of your mod.
__________________
Darrell, Mary & K.C. Toller Mix
In our hearts: Goldens, Tess & Jericho
'15 Jayco Precept 31 UL "Bertha"
'13 Wrangler Sahara...AKAFUN
Roadmaster base plate
Ready Brute Elite towbar and brake combo
D&MAKAFUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 01:40 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
D&MAKAFUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: KC MO
Posts: 358
Rider99, below are 2 threads that discussed satellite systems. These are on the Precept Owners Group.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/gr...n+precept.html
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/gr...ellite+tv.html
__________________
Darrell, Mary & K.C. Toller Mix
In our hearts: Goldens, Tess & Jericho
'15 Jayco Precept 31 UL "Bertha"
'13 Wrangler Sahara...AKAFUN
Roadmaster base plate
Ready Brute Elite towbar and brake combo
D&MAKAFUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2016, 05:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 31
Coax

Thanks for the help. Precept is currently at the dealers for minor stuff. I will document my installation and post it so it may help others. Hopefully next week.
Rider99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 06:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Cape May Court House
Posts: 50
Can you tell me how you got the schematic of the coax wiring on the 2016 31UL. I would like to put a dish on my roof. I would also like to see how the whole system is run. Thanks.
Djtommysr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2016, 08:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,059
Congratulations on your Precept and welcome to the JOF.

You can get a wiring schematic from Jayco. Call Customer Service and have your vin# handy.
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.