Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2023, 07:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
hemi8lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hemphill
Posts: 24
2nd A/C install

When I ordered my 27DSRL I did not opt for the A/C prep. Wondering if the framework is in the ceiling anyway. Does anyone know?
__________________
2016 Whitehawk 27DSRL with most of the goodies
2017 Ram 2500 CTD
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2015 Whitehawk 24RKS (sold)
2013 Ram 1500 (traded)
hemi8lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 07:50 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by hemi8lonestar View Post
When I ordered my 27DSRL I did not opt for the A/C prep. Wondering if the framework is in the ceiling anyway. Does anyone know?
Do you have 50 amp or 30 amp? If it was an option then there should be a roof vent instead of the a/c. Problem will be the wiring is probably not there, but pull the trim ring and see.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 08:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Location: Panama City Beach
Posts: 150
The opening is the same for roof vents and A/C's...14"x14". As mentioned...the prep option is the pre-wiring within the frame. It could be the wires are there, as many manufacturers have a generic wiring harness that fits across several models but you will require 50A service to run both units. If you have 30A service and wish to install a 2nd unit, just wire it direct to a 120V line and use the 20A, 120V plug on the power pedestal near the 30 & 50A plugs.
__________________
Don & April
"Bugsie" the Lab
2022 Melbourne Prestige
Retired @ PCB
The Gritz Carlton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 08:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,922
I know in the past a number of people have commented the framing was in place. Being they did not order the AC prep, the power was not run to the hole. There is ways to work around that issue.

I recommend contacting Jayco with your vin number and ask for the roofing frame schematic, and the 120V AC power schematic. This should tell you everything you need to know.

Good Luck, let us know how it goes.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.