Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Jayco Tech and Tow > Jayco Mods
Click Here to Login

Old 06-21-2018, 02:54 PM   #1

Considering Jayco 2018 Hummingbird Electrical System Upgrade

I purchased a almost new 2018 Hummingbird with ~500 miles on tires!

I am new to RV systems, etc. even though I am a retired EE. So I may be wrong in my understanding of unit functions. Please jump in and make suggestions.

Anyways ... the previous owner told me he had already purchased a 2nd deep cycle battery as the 12VDC was half was confusing him. I too have noticed weird 12VDC behavior. When I am not on shore power, but battery is fully charged, the 12VDC systems do not function! Even the lighting is dead! I think the battery is 'sinked' to ground somehow and drains quickly below a usable VDC level.

The converter is programmed to shut-off when the monitored 12VDC is below a preset level, corect?

I need to isolate each sub-system of the WFCO unit and verify if working.

Because of these issues and the desire to go off grid for a week at a time, I am considering a complete upgrade.

Upgrade electrical sub-systems:
1. Electrical breaker and fuse panel and distribution.
2. Converter (brand that can charge at higher DC rates, 45a to 75a or so.
3. Battery type and size.
4. Multi-stage charger to interface with AGM or Gel deep cycle batteries, 100ah or200ah.
5. Use solar panels to trickle charge 12VDC batteries.
6. Isolate tow battery and RV battery systems when required, but be capable of trickle charging RV batteries (if compatible).
7. Interface with my Champion 3400 Inverter dual fuel electric start generator.
8. Add Magnum Hybrid Inverter capable of in excess of required power on 120VAC leg (~30a). Must be friendly with on and off grid functions.

Trying to build an off grid camper electrical system that can go out for a week or so.