Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2011, 09:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
Digital Thermostat

One of the things I noticed when using the AC (and also the heat) is that the trailer often would be too hot or too cool. I researched and found a popular fix was to swap the mechanical slide type thermostat with a digital one.

Here is my version of that mod:

The original Thermostat has a High/Low Fan speed for the Air Conditioner. That feature is not found on most home type thermostats, and I ended up buying the Honeywell RTH2310 programmable digital thermostat. I initially installed it and just omitted the low speed wire.



After using the AC on my last weekend campout, I realized the low speed would be nice as it runs a little quieter and it would cycle on and off less in order to maintain the temperature better inside. I used a SPDT switch that takes the fan command from the thermostat and simply routes it through the contacts to either the high or low speed circuit. It was small enough to fit inside the case and only required a mounting hole.



I soldered short lengths of 18 gauge wire to the connections.



And then I covered them with heatshrink tubing.

__________________

22FB2010Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
Due to a limit to number of images, here is the next part of the digital thermostat modification:

The high (green wire) and low speed (light green wire) pigtails are tied in with wire caps and pushed back into the wall.



The center common of the switch is tied to the Fan output terminal (GL)
The Red wire goes to the AC Compressor turn on signal terminal (Y)
The White wire goes to the Heater terminal (W)
The Red/White wire goes to the Heater terminal (Rc) which is has a jumper to (Rh)



Here is a diagram of the wiring before with the old thermostat:

And here is the new thermostat wiring diagram:

__________________

22FB2010Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
And here is another pic of the high low switch:

22FB2010Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #4
Member
 
coalrig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Milton Ontario
Posts: 55
Very good info and schematic too, this is a mod that I want to do.
__________________
There's a method to the madness, disturb the method and the madness begins.
coalrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:07 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Great Mod Tim!

Do you have a ducted AC system and can you hear/feel much difference from high/low?

I was not able to tell any discernible difference in my AC from high to low so I omitted that switch....so now I am wondering if maybe the high/low on mine is broken and it is stuck on high.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
This is definitely a mod I need to do. I was going to try setting mine up so "Fan Only" used the furnace fan, not the AC fan, so I could use it anytime (no shore or generator power needed). But, looking at the furnace schematics, it's just not possible. There's no option for fan only with the furnace.

Dang it!

Still need the digital thermostat upgrade, though.
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by tafische View Post
Great Mod Tim!

Do you have a ducted AC system and can you hear/feel much difference from high/low?

I was not able to tell any discernible difference in my AC from high to low so I omitted that switch....so now I am wondering if maybe the high/low on mine is broken and it is stuck on high.
Thanks for the comments.

I do have ducted AC. There is a definite difference in fan pitch/speed when the switch is moved from high to low, although there is only slightly less noise.

If you changed out the original thermostat with the high/low fan feature and put in a digital home type thermostat, you are only going to have it "stuck" on high or low. It depends on if you wired the thermostat fan output to the high circuit (green wire on mine) or the low circuit (white wire). I think I remember reading a post where someone wired it to both. I'm not sure what the results would be with that.
22FB2010Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Thanks Tim - yeah I was referring to when I had the stock thermostat. I could not tell any difference between high and low so when I put in a digital, I just wired to high and left low disconnected.

My guess is my control board may not be working properly. I tried to remove the wires up in the AC unit at the control board to check them, but they were connected so tightly I was afraid I was going to damage the connectors trying to get them off so I stopped. Have not had more time to experiment, but not sure it is really worth the time and effort since I like a lot of air flow anyway. I generally leave the fan set to on all night so I get a nice breeze.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wedowee AL
Posts: 262
Following the modification, did you test the heat cycle to also make sure that works?

FYI - my thermostat went out in Florida and was replaced by RV mechanic. Everything was fine all summer but when got to winter in North Carolina hills , found out the replacement thermostat would not run the 2 speed furnace on my Designer. Had to pay another service call buy another new thermostat etc. .....
__________________
F250 HD 7.3 Diesel :)
31 Ft RLS Designer 5th Wheel :D
kcconawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 07:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 34
I did the mod a few months ago and only recently added the hi/lo switch. The heater was the only thing I used for the first three weekend campouts. I only got to use the AC on this last weekend. Both heat and AC work great.
__________________

__________________

2010 Jay Flight 22FB
2011 Ford F250 KR CC 4x4 PSD
22FB2010Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.