Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2011, 04:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Klamath falls, oregon
Posts: 43
honeywell thermostat upgrade

I put a honeywell touch screen programable thermostat in our 31 bhds because I often use our trailer for work and stay in it for a few months at a time .Prety much any digital thermostat will work as long as it is battery operated. I have 24 years exp in the hvac trade. I prefer honeywell as I think it is far superior to the hunter with it having a larger display and back light. Will try to put a pic on here.
Attached Thumbnails
4-16-2011 006.jpg  
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco 31BHDS 2001 F-350 7.3 PSD SRW Lariat, airbags, overload springs, Class 5 reciever, Valley Weight DH. Dad, Mom, 1st son 16, 2nd son 14. ( BEWARE OF THE SHEETMETAL WORKER)
kfbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Full Timing since December 2011
Posts: 311
Is there a hi lo setting for the fan? Or did you run it so it is always on hi?
__________________

__________________
2015 Seismic 4212 on order
2010.5 Dodge Ram 3500 MC CTD HD Dually (4.10 gears), Firestone Air-Bags, with a Superglide model 4400.
2012 Yamaha Zuma 125
Shin Pond Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 04:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Klamath falls, oregon
Posts: 43
honeywell tstat

I wired it to run on high, I did't want an extra switch.
__________________
2008 Jayco 31BHDS 2001 F-350 7.3 PSD SRW Lariat, airbags, overload springs, Class 5 reciever, Valley Weight DH. Dad, Mom, 1st son 16, 2nd son 14. ( BEWARE OF THE SHEETMETAL WORKER)
kfbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Full Timing since December 2011
Posts: 311
Nice mod, I like the big screen. Can you give the model #? Lastly, do you have coleman AC units that this is wired to?
__________________
2015 Seismic 4212 on order
2010.5 Dodge Ram 3500 MC CTD HD Dually (4.10 gears), Firestone Air-Bags, with a Superglide model 4400.
2012 Yamaha Zuma 125
Shin Pond Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Klamath falls, oregon
Posts: 43
The part # is TH8110U1003 and I have a coleman a/c. I believe Home depot might carry this one or a simalar model as long as it is battery powered.
__________________
2008 Jayco 31BHDS 2001 F-350 7.3 PSD SRW Lariat, airbags, overload springs, Class 5 reciever, Valley Weight DH. Dad, Mom, 1st son 16, 2nd son 14. ( BEWARE OF THE SHEETMETAL WORKER)
kfbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:54 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport,Mi
Posts: 22
I have just a roof mounted a/c unit,is there a thermostat like yours for a tt like mine?I have a 04 jayflight 29bhs.I hate my cheap plastic one
04jayflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:21 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Klamath falls, oregon
Posts: 43
If your current thermostat controls your a/c then a new one would also.If your a/c has dials on the inside cover then a t-stat won't control it. But a digital stat will control your furnace. I had an 06 layton that I upgraded the stat just for the heat as my a/c was controled at the inside a/c cover.
__________________
2008 Jayco 31BHDS 2001 F-350 7.3 PSD SRW Lariat, airbags, overload springs, Class 5 reciever, Valley Weight DH. Dad, Mom, 1st son 16, 2nd son 14. ( BEWARE OF THE SHEETMETAL WORKER)
kfbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:25 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport,Mi
Posts: 22
Yea my a/c controls are on the a/c cover(on ceiling),So i could still use a thermostat that controls a/c + furnace and have no problems?
04jayflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 04:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Klamath falls, oregon
Posts: 43
Yes a new stat would control the heat but you would still have to control your a/c at the inside ceiling cover. Some honeywell digital t-stats can be set to heat only with no cool switch setting. You would still have a temp display on the t-stat for summer time letting you know inside temp.
__________________
2008 Jayco 31BHDS 2001 F-350 7.3 PSD SRW Lariat, airbags, overload springs, Class 5 reciever, Valley Weight DH. Dad, Mom, 1st son 16, 2nd son 14. ( BEWARE OF THE SHEETMETAL WORKER)
kfbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 08:59 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport,Mi
Posts: 22
Do you know if there is a way to get the thermostat to control my type of a/c also?
__________________

04jayflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.