Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2010, 10:50 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
ByDesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 286
Awesome mod .... I'm sure that system will be very useful in many ways !
__________________

__________________
My Other House Is A '02 Jayco 31FKS Designer TT
ByDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 47
Hi Albertaguy,
I would assume your trucks backup camera is a hardwire (not wireless) installation to your Nav screen if it was a factory install. The only way to get a camera from the back of your 5'er to display on your Nav screen would be if there were an A/V input plug (Audio/Video). Probably not, as watching dvd movies on the Nav screen while driving is a bad idea

I'm sure there are others smarter than I am that have probably done this mod. My motto for my updates and upgrades is to keep it simple. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Tim & Cindy
our rescued fur babies,
Madison (JRT and Beagle mix)
Beau (Hound mix)
----------------------------
2015 Jay Flight Swift SLX 185RB
2009 Honda Ridgeline RTS
JayRidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:06 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ByDesign View Post
Awesome mod .... I'm sure that system will be very useful in many ways !
Thanks for your comments ByDesign. So far it is working out really good!
__________________
Tim & Cindy
our rescued fur babies,
Madison (JRT and Beagle mix)
Beau (Hound mix)
----------------------------
2015 Jay Flight Swift SLX 185RB
2009 Honda Ridgeline RTS
JayRidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 07:39 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayRidge View Post
Hi Albertaguy,
I would assume your trucks backup camera is a hardwire (not wireless) installation to your Nav screen if it was a factory install. The only way to get a camera from the back of your 5'er to display on your Nav screen would be if there were an A/V input plug (Audio/Video). Probably not, as watching dvd movies on the Nav screen while driving is a bad idea

I'm sure there are others smarter than I am that have probably done this mod. My motto for my updates and upgrades is to keep it simple. Good luck.
Thanks for your reply. I do have the A/V plugs but have never used the rear DVD player or watched a movie on the front Nav screen, although I do recall that this is possible as long as vehicle is stopped, so don't know if a retrofit would work. I will probably stop and talk to one of the geeks at the local electronic store. I do like the idea of having the rear camera not only for driving but also when backing.
Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 10:11 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
JayRidge,

What did you use for the conduit and how is it attached to the trailer body?

Regards,
Jim
obrienj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:47 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 47
Hi Jim,
I used a product that I found while wandering around the electrical department of my local Lowes Home Improvement store. A link to a description can be found here.

Its made from PVC with a self adhesive backing. I also pre-drilled and used 1/2-inch screws, 3 for each 5-foot section, just because I thought it would be more secure, although I wasn't really keen on putting holes into the skin. Actually, the short section in the back on top wasn't screwed in at all and hasn't come loose yet. We put on about 5,000 miles last year and the conduit is still as secure as the day I applied it.

One thing to keep in mind if you use this type of solution; When you have a straight run longer than 5-feet and you need to butt two pieces together, make sure the seams for the track and the cover are staggered.

Let me know if you have any other questions.
__________________
Tim & Cindy
our rescued fur babies,
Madison (JRT and Beagle mix)
Beau (Hound mix)
----------------------------
2015 Jay Flight Swift SLX 185RB
2009 Honda Ridgeline RTS
JayRidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 05:33 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 24
JayRidge,

Thanks, that helps alot.

I assume that your camera came with a mount, my next problem is to fabricate a mount for a camera meant to fit in a 1" hole which I refuse to drill into the skin.

Anyway, a tour of Lowes might show something that I can use.

I will be using an RF transmitter/receiver to send the signal to my TV. Darn thing takes 6V and do you think I can find a 12V-6V adapter. Sounds like more Google time.

Regards,
Jim
obrienj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:39 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 47
The transmitter/receiver that I referenced in my earlier post (made by SecurityMan) came with an AC adapter to provide an 8v input to the receiver, but the transmitter requires a 12v input. I tried to fabricate a voltage divider from parts I bought at Radio Shack with mixed results. I was able to get 8v, but not enough power to light up the receiver. Out of frustration I just plugged the 12v into it and it works like a charm. I used it all last summer with no ill effects, but applying 12v to a 6v requirement may be a bit much.

If your receiver does have an AC adapter maybe a small inverter would be the easiest, for example something like this from Sears.

Good luck and let me know how you make out with your project.

Regards,
Tim
__________________
Tim & Cindy
our rescued fur babies,
Madison (JRT and Beagle mix)
Beau (Hound mix)
----------------------------
2015 Jay Flight Swift SLX 185RB
2009 Honda Ridgeline RTS
JayRidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 10:20 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
That is a very nice upgrade.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 02:18 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 99
I'm new here and I give up - what's a DW?
__________________

llerberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.