Jayco RV Owners Forum
 



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2018, 03:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Posts: 187
Replace the thermostat

Can this stock thermostat be replaced with one that will tell me the temperature and let me set a digital temperature? Which thermostat would you recommend?

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________

2016 JayFlight X23F
11 Expedition EL
4 Girls under 8 yrs old
1 Wife
1 Dog
2 guinea pigs that stay home...
cbaka27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 03:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ottawa
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbaka27 View Post
Can this stock thermostat be replaced with one that will tell me the temperature and let me set a digital temperature? Which thermostat would you recommend?

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
I'm switching mine with this one Honeywell RTH5100B1033/A 1025 Deluxe Manual Thermostat (White) https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B005UTVEHY/..._uIyRAbPMZAXES

Adding a toggle switch for the high and low fan speed.

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
__________________

ibra0078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 04:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
36fire412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Joseph
Posts: 392
I thought this would be a nice idea as well but it's not available at that link where I live in Michigan (perhaps only available in Canada).

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
__________________

Jerry B.
SW Lower Michigan
2016 X254
2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4
36fire412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 04:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ottawa
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by 36fire412 View Post
I thought this would be a nice idea as well but it's not available at that link where I live in Michigan (perhaps only available in Canada).

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Search on amazon.com, https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-TH5...ble+thermostat
ibra0078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 04:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ttavasc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbaka27 View Post
Can this stock thermostat be replaced with one that will tell me the temperature and let me set a digital temperature? Which thermostat would you recommend?

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
That looks like the same heat-only Atwood thermostat we had in our 195RB. I swapped it out for this one:

https://smile.amazon.com/Honeywell-T...s=th1100dv1000
__________________
TT: 2015 Jay Flight SLX 195RB Baja Edition
TV: 2014 RAM 1500 Big Horn CC, 5.7L Hemi, 8-spd, 3.21LSD, Factory Air Ride/Tow Pkg, Andersen WD/SC
ttavasc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 05:23 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: johnstown
Posts: 214
Any thermostat that operates on batteries will work. You may choose to add the toggle switch for fan speed or just wire for low or high only. It only effects the speed in the fan only setting . I have used the honeywell focus pro 5000 in my last 3 trailers. There are plenty of wiring schematics on Google for assistance. Check eBay for the t-stat.
o2silverado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2018, 06:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 623
I installed a LuxPro 511LC thermostat in place of my original one. Works fine for both Heat and AC. I think I got it on amazon. If I remember correctly, the reason I got this model was that you could adjust the on/off range. Where most thermostats are fixed by the manufacturer.

__________________

2015 Jayco 27RLS
2015 Ford F250 6.7PSD
DanNJanice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 02:18 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Haven, NY
Posts: 921
I used a replacement Coleman Digital Thermostat. It has the high/low fan speed switch already and is a direct wire for wire swap.
__________________


2017 28BHBE Kitchen skylight, remote control and Aluminum wheels hitched by ProPride 3P
2017 Ram 2500 CC LB 4x4 Big Horn Cummins
LiftedAWDAstro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 09:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Duke4857's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiftedAWDAstro View Post
I used a replacement Coleman Digital Thermostat. It has the high/low fan speed switch already and is a direct wire for wire swap.
I hope you like your RV Coleman. I bought one to put in. It arrived on Thursday and I will install it today. I have been waiting for a RV upgrade thermostat. I did not like the idea of modifying a home thermostat to work.
Duke4857 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 01:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 53
Should be able to. I put this one in mine:

https://www.amazon.com/Honeywell-TH1.../dp/B00H6ARNXO
__________________

OdiN1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jacyo, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.