Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-13-2013, 05:15 PM   #1

wiring led awning lights to porch light

I have a 26bh and I want to install an led light strip on the side of the camper just below the manual awning. I'm trying to figure out where to tie in the power. The porch light is relatively close to the end of the strip and there is a hole under the light fixture already.

Couldn't I attach the 12 v wires directly to the wires that power the fixture? I would just need to have the porch light on to power the strip. Right?

Is there a way to power them through that same opening and not have to use the porch light?

Thanks for your help. I am new to the camper thing and only have basic electrical skills.

Glenn
gmucha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:03 PM   #2

Sounds like a great idea. I do suspect that in order for there to be power to the lights, the porch light would have to be on, thus taking away the effect of the LED's. I hope someone can answer it.
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 06:32 PM   #3

I thought about going through the porch light, but decided against it as i wanted all my connections inside the trailer away from the elements. If your control panel is just inside the door, on the backside of the porch light you can remove the entire control and access the hole thats behind the porch light then wire it into a constant 12V source there. Another thing you may want to consider is you mentioned mounting on the side of the trailer. That would face it outward and you might find it blinding a bit. I held mine up on the side and just under the gutter facing downward and fount under the gutter to be better, and it can be used when the awning is shut. Good luck with your install, here is a link to the write-up I did.