Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-01-2019, 06:32 AM   #1

2017 Hummingbird 16FD Awning Lights

Good morning all. First time posting on the forum, picked on my "new to me" 2017 Hummingbird 16FD. This is my first light RV but I have been owning RVs for the past 9 years. Everything on the unit is in great shape with everything working as it should. But I am confused with the awning lights...

The lights turn on just fine from the switch on the wall. I can tell the strip is an RGB strip as I can see the red, green, and blue light for each element, which produces a white light. I found an RGB remote in a cabinet next to the awning light switch. I assume this is for the awning lights (dealer doesn't know). However, either I don't know where to point the remote or it actually isn't for the awning. (I have had an RGB strip before, with the same style remote, and the remote had to be pointed directly at the control box in order to receive the signal).

Any one have any suggestions? Is the light strip only capable of putting out white? I find it too much of a coincidence that the strip obviously looks like an RGB strip, and I found an RGB remote, but dealer claims its not an RGB strip and the previous owner must have forgot the remote inside and it goes to something else...
eli_harper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:56 AM   #2

Welcome from Wisconsin. The sensor for the awning lights on our 'bird' is at the top of the right awning arm when looking at the unit. It might have been gotten pushed into the hollow part of the arm up there not allowing the remote signal to reach the sensor. Our remote will change the color and strobe/fade feature. I'll try to get a pic of our remote later and post it.
wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 07:07 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscampsin View Post