Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2015, 06:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Byhalia
Posts: 14
Air Conditioner Thermostat question

We just bought a Jay Feather Sport 165 and took it out for the first time. It was not really hot or cold outside so we put the unit on low cool and at the lowest thermostat setting. It got so cold in there during the night I had to get up and turn it off. It acts like the thermostat is not turning off. Also I noticed it was not blowing cold air off when I turned it off. It may have froze up. Any suggestions would be helpful. I think I will go ahead and clean the coils just in case...thanks
__________________

pcbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: oneonta ny
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcbrewer View Post
so we put the unit on low cool and at the lowest thermostat setting.
Maybe you should have just set it at the temp. you wanted. Like 72 or something.
__________________

rick danger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 06:40 PM   #3
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,057
It likely froze up. Keep practicing.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 07:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
nwminnesota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blaine
Posts: 285
I made a mod to my a/c unit as well as my heater. I was sick of those dial settings. You really don't know what temp you are setting it at. I got this idea from someone else on the forum
Attached Thumbnails
20150606_152351.jpg  
__________________
2014 6.6L Duramax 2500hd CrewCab
2018 5th wheel on its way
2011 x23b (sold)
05 f150 5.4 v8 (sold)
nwminnesota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 08:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
muelldawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 388
I have been advised ,by AC repair people, to always run our AC on full (blower) power to prevent the "freeze up". The thermostat can be set to your convenience.
__________________
Richard & Marilyn
2010 Ford F150, V8, 5.4 liter
2010 Jay Feather Sport 165
muelldawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 08:05 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
tugboat95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: New Bern
Posts: 403
Recent experience on mine did the same thing. Froze up every night. On other threads on here the consensus seems to be run the fan on high all the time ESPECIALLY in high humidity areas like Florida. Got to have that air movement across the coils. When it's not froze up mine will run me out of there it's so cold. I like it that way. Just grab another blanket and go back to sleep.
tugboat95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 12:58 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Byhalia
Posts: 14
Ok, what I did was turn the blower on high and turned the thermostat to the warmest position and it still froze us out of the camper. It is like a meat locker in there. It is like it make no difference what setting the thermostat is on....it is just cold!
pcbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 01:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,115
Do you have the analog or digital thermostat?
__________________
2013 26BH w/ 4 plain rims and some rust
2001 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 gasser
Black Bear programmed ECM
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 03:56 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Byhalia
Posts: 14
Iraqvet05, it is just a turn knob with blue that goes from small to big so I guess it is analog.
pcbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 04:43 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dickinson
Posts: 436
It could be improper air flow (dirty filter). There is usually a sensor on the unit to prevent freeze ups, a lot of times the sensor is not mounted in the correct spot in the unit.
__________________

__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.