Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2013, 05:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
The microwave outlet works fine. Could there still be a problem? TKU
__________________

bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 05:54 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
The microwave is on its own circuit breaker. All the other outlets are connected to a separate circuit breaker, that is first routed through the bathroom’s GFI.

I thought you stated the problem outlet is secured into the side of the microwave cabinet and you do not have access to it.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:10 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagiven View Post
The microwave is on its own circuit breaker. All the other outlets are connected to a separate circuit breaker, that is first routed through the bathroom’s GFI.

I thought you stated the problem outlet is secured into the side of the microwave cabinet and you do not have access to it.
X2
I thought you said a junction box was located there?
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:07 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
It's not the microwave outlet. That outlet is inside the upper cabinet that gives you access to the storage above the couch. The outlet in question is under the sink, on the right side facing the couch. If you sit on the end of the couch, next to the sink, the plug in is on the cabinet end next to your right arm. Sorry for the confusion. I traced the wire to a junction box under the gas oven. I took the access panels off, but, to tight a space for me to get into. Hope I'm a little clearer. Garry
bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 07:46 PM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Man,
That's probably where the problem is.
Assuming the loose wires are inside a junction box and if they short they should kick the GFIC in the circuit or lastly the breaker.
If you can't get to that junction, you may have to live with it until you can.
1. I am assuming you do not have 120V at the wires at the outlet in question. You have to check the wires directly, don't just put probes in outlet.
2. If you only checked the outlet, check the wires at the outlet.
3. If you have 120V on the wires at the outlet, then its the outlet.
4. If you do not have 120V on the wires at the outlet, then the next junction box that you are looking at is where I would say the problem lies.

Keep us posted.

Thanks,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:03 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Niagara on the Lake
Posts: 212
You mean 120V right?
__________________
2015 Jayco WhiteHawk 28BHKS Summit Edition
2016 Ford F-150, 4x4, 3.5L ECOBOOST, MaxTow, Supercrew, 6.5FT, 3.55 axle
Quantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:17 PM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quantum View Post
You mean 120V right?
Correct Quantum, thanks for catching that. I changed it in edit mode.
I was trying to reply while watching amazing race with Wifey :-)

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:22 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
It has never kicked the breaker. There are no current to the wires themselves. I tested them with a volt meter. However, 98 is all the volt meter would register. Not a very accurate meter. So you think it's proably a loose connection. Thanks
bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:28 PM   #19
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
If you got 98 Volts on the wires, replace the outlet.
I thought you got zero voltage on the wires?
If you have 98 volts on the wire and the outlet doesn't fix it, then j-box next.
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:33 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
I have no current on the wires. The 98v are obtained at the other outlets. I don't think the meter is accurate.
__________________

bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.