Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2013, 05:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
Elec. Outlet??

I have a 2006 Jayfeather 29Y. The outlet at the end of the sink cabinet, facing the couch, stopped working. It says the GFI breaker is tripped in the bathroom. I've checked it ,and, it works the way it's supposed to. Everything on the circuit is working, except the outlet at the end of the couch. Recommendations, or, anyone else had this problem? TKU, Garry
__________________

bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 06:12 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
I would also check for 120V with a volt meter 1st thing.
Stick one probe in each outlet opening, set meter on Volts AC.
I would take the outlet apart and check for loose screws, wires not attached properly.
Drop the breaker if you start disassembling.
Check to make sure the outlet isn't cracked as well.
__________________

__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 06:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Niagara on the Lake
Posts: 212
Unplug the trailer from shore power BEFORE taking anything apart.
__________________
2015 Jayco WhiteHawk 28BHKS Summit Edition
2016 Ford F-150, 4x4, 3.5L ECOBOOST, MaxTow, Supercrew, 6.5FT, 3.55 axle
Quantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 06:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: north central Iowa
Posts: 304
I would replace the GFI. Those things seem to die of old age so you will probably need one sometime anyway.
__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 361REQS
2013 Ford F350 Crew w/ 6.7 diesel
sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 07:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
Funny thing. I went out to the camper after I posted this. It worked. Hasn't worked since our last trip camping in Nov. The only thing I did was plug it in, after putting the 30 amp fuse back in the in-line holder to the battery. Before, I used a volt meter, and, showed no current at all. What could have happened? TKU
bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
May have a loose wire or a cracked outlet that came alive after you jarred it.
I would at least take it apart and see what condition the outlet is in.
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 06:07 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
I took it apart, already , and, checked it with a volt meter. There was no current at all when it wasn't working. The wiring runs from the outlet to a junction box. Gonna take some time to get to it. Would the positive in-line battery fuse, being removed, have anything to do with it? Thanks for the help. Garry
bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 08:27 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,761
I wouldn't think the fuse would have anything to do with it since you said everything else on the circuit was working.
If there was no current, then I would go back to the junction box. Something is loose or wire connector came off or something.



Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:52 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 65
Checked it just now, it's off again. It's under the microwave. Don't know how to get to it. Thanks again, Garry
bereta1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 05:23 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,109
My guess is the terminals on the outlet are loose, however, the on the feeder outlet might be loose too. So you might have to pull more than the one outlet out and check the terminals. Just note all the outlets are connected through the GFI in the bathroom, with one exception. The microwave outlet (20 amp) is not on the GI circuit. But you could have a bad outlet.

Most likely you will need to remove the microwave. It’s fairly easy to do. On mine (as I recall) there is 4 screws that holds the metal shroud (sp?) to the cabinets. Once the schroud is off the microwave can be pulled out of the cabinet. Most likely in the cabinet next to the microwave there will be an outlet the microwave is plugged into.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.