Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-15-2011, 09:51 PM   #1

Feather Sport 165 water system basic understanding

Hi All!

I have a new-2-me 2007 Feather Sport 165. Everything that I've been able to
figure out works excellently, air, heat, hot water, electricals both 12v an
110v.

Unfortunately I've got some very low level non-understanding of how this
water system works. I've got very little experience with plumbing but can do
repairs. For instance the city feed port was loose inside the wall fitting
and leaking a geyser so I figured out how to uncaulk it, *tape* it properly
and put it back together snugly. (I've got a ton of background in
electronics so I can follow pipes and valves and generally figure out where
they go and what they do.)

Believe it or not I'm not understanding if/how the main water tank even fills!!
I *should* be hearing water going in, but I'm not even 100% sure if it's
empty after a system drain.

I see the city water come in and split. One side goes forward and splits
again immediately to the sink cold water and to the drain valve.

It splits again with one line going back probably to the bathroom and
heater and the other side towards the pump.

On the other side of the pump is the tank and the sanitise-fill-hose.

I see the three drain valves for hot and cold water, and one directly from
the tank.

OK here's where my non-understanding starts.

I can't even tell if there's water in the tank or going into the tank. I
connect to city water and I hear the hose pressurise but hear no further
flow, and if the tank is empty I -should- be hearing flow and splash because
it should take a few minutes to fill a 30gal tank.

So that implies the tank is full.

But if I open the tank drain valve nothing happens nothing drains out.

The drain valves for the hot/cold pipes -do- drain when I open the faucets