Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-17-2015, 03:32 PM   #1

First time for spring start up

So this is my first year really starting up our TT. We bought it last year and the dealership had it all ready when we brought it home. I spoke to the dealer about bringing it in for spring inspections, etc.

I am a little perplexed about the "service" on the TT. It seems like every time I call about having the dealership service check something it is never less than $300.00. I read the forums and think because of my handyman skills, and friends that have TT, that I can probably do most stuff myself.

Can I get a little advice on what NEEDS to be done each year and what dealerships WANT to make money off of you on? I own a 2012 White Hawk that is in excellent shape. Roof looks good, tires look good, checked the lugs and they are tight - do I have to repack wheel bearing every year, etc.

This forum is great and has helped me a lot. It has been a long winter and I am ready to get the RV out but want to make sure it is in prime shape and I don't miss anything. Thanks in advance.
Eaglechief_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:38 PM   #2
Site Team

I would recommend a roof inspection several times a year. Check very closely every seam on the roof for cracked caulk joints. Touch up as needed. Verify there are no tears on the roof fabric. Clean the roof per manufacturer instruction. You will be much more likely to head off a problem and save your self a couple hundred dollars.

If you use your rig heavily, I would pack or have the wheel bearings packed annually. Many people go 2 or even more years.