Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2011, 01:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5
Furnace for newbie

Okay. I must be missing something. After reading the directions for the furnace in my travel trailer, it is not doing anything. Can anyone provide quick and simple instructions on how to start the darn furnace?
bciuffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,002
Welcome to the Jayco Owners Forum bciuffo! For our tt, we turn on the propane out on the tank located on the tongue. We then go into the tt to the thermostat and slide the system switch to "Heat". We personally keep the "Fan" switch on 'auto'. Finally we adjust the heater to the temperature we desire.

Just wondering, do you have a pop-up or smaller tt or perhaps an older one that requires you to go out and light the pilot? I woudn't know anything about how to do that now-a-days.
__________________
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Do you know what make/model/year your heater is?



__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:39 PM   #4
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 5,053
You're right. It should be a simple process. But...

Have you successfully started any other gas appliances? If not, there could be air still in the lines or the gas isn't turned on. If there's air in the lines, get your stove to light first, then try starting the furnace.

When you start the furnace, the fan should come on immediately (there's no wait time like the forced air gas furnace found in homes) blowing cold air. Does it? If not, check your thermostat to ensure you have it set to Heat and the temperature is set high enough for the furnace to come on. If that appears to be ok, check to see if the fuse for the furnace has blown.

The furnace runs on 12V DC so as long as the battery has sufficient power, it should run.
__________________
MODERATOR

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT
PREVIOUS: 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!

FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,446
As stated, age and model will help with your question.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package. (no, we don't tow the Jayco with it.)
2018 Surveyor 265RLDS well equipped.
Life in the slow lane is still life.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 07:24 AM   #6
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 5,053
Here's a link to an RV furnace troubleshooting document. It explains how an RV furnace operates and provides troubleshooting information. Along with that are pictures with labels pointing out the location of the various components found in a typical RV furnace

RV Furnace Operation and Troubleshooting
__________________
MODERATOR

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT
PREVIOUS: 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!

FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:30 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5
Thank you everyone. It was the darn on/off switch. It was so tight, I did not think it could really move without me breaking the thing. The dealership assured me I would not break it. Finally heat! Thanks for all the replies.
bciuffo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 01:10 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
I'm ready to switch to a digital thermostat because ours drives me nuts. Like the OP the on/off switch is very hard to move. The current temp is a guess and I frequently have to turn off then back on to get it to start up. I don't think there is a problem with the furnace, it seems to look ok and act correctly when the thermostat decides to behave.
jdomke1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 4,976
My off/on switch is also real tight. It was pointed out to me during our deliver walk-thru otherwise I'd likely be in the same boat.
I'm also in the market for a digital thermostat to replace it.
Our TT was new and the first time I fired off the furnace it set off the smoke alarm. I let it burn 10 min or so while in our driveway and eventually all was well. I suspect there is a coating on the innerds to keep them from rusting till I use it.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 05:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Secret Cove
Posts: 10,701
Okay, time to fess up. First ever night we TT'ed with our first ever TT. We froze our butts off because manly man could not start furnance (in the driving rain), because of all issues mentioned here.

That alone is worth the price of admission to the forum. IMHO.
__________________
2010 Jayco Feather Sport 22'6" (sold)DrawTite,12,000 lbs. 2017 Jayco 212 QBW BAJA (bought)
2011 Ford F-150 XLT SCab 4x4 Tow Package
"If you can't be smart; be stubborn.". DG.
SecretCoveDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 04:54 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,761
Just remember "You always got to have a PLAN-B" in the RV world. something is not going to work when you need it the most... I always carry my Mr Buddy heater in my RV TOOL BOX... My grille is the Coleman Road Trip so I always have six or so 1LB propane canisters on-hand for that. Can use a couple of those to fire up the Mr Buddy heater.
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 05:45 PM   #12
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Where the cold wind blows my van.
Posts: 54
I rarely have problems.
justpassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
emjayuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 260
Thanks!

It's a cold evening and first time using the Ty's furnace. Dang on/off switch!
emjayuu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 02:37 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Smithville
Posts: 13
Furnace ?

After reading the helpful hints from others, it looks like the On/Off switch is the culprit in many cases of the furnace not coming on. I have a 2015 white hawk MRB 20 TT and I do not find a switch? I have a reset/off switch. What am I missing?

bon Voyage!
WiseOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 03:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseOwl View Post
After reading the helpful hints from others, it looks like the On/Off switch is the culprit in many cases of the furnace not coming on. I have a 2015 white hawk MRB 20 TT and I do not find a switch? I have a reset/off switch. What am I missing?

bon Voyage!
I have never looked closely at my switch to see how it is marked, or even if it is. Mine is well camouflaged and hidden. I have to remove my cold air return grate. Then in the upper right hand corner (if I recall correctly). There is a black switch on a black background. If you did not know it is there, it would be really easy to miss.

I think I had to flip it once in all the years we have owned this rig.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (retired from towing)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 03:23 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Smithville
Posts: 13
Furnace

Thanks, got it. Working well now! Seems my battery was weak. After hooking up to shore power it kicked on.

Bon Voyage
WiseOwl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 03:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseOwl View Post
Thanks, got it. Working well now! Seems my battery was weak. After hooking up to shore power it kicked on.

Bon Voyage
Glad you found your issue.

The furnace is a power hog. It will not run on low voltage, and can drain a battery quickly.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (retired from towing)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 03:34 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
GABob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 483
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdomke1 View Post
I'm ready to switch to a digital thermostat because ours drives me nuts. Like the OP the on/off switch is very hard to move. The current temp is a guess and I frequently have to turn off then back on to get it to start up. I don't think there is a problem with the furnace, it seems to look ok and act correctly when the thermostat decides to behave.



You will find that this is one of the best upgrades you can make...for the whole family.
__________________
2019 Entegra Odyssey 31L
GABob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2020, 04:48 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
glhalcomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Fort Collins
Posts: 25
Honeywell TH1100DV1000

5 minute job to install. Just works!
glhalcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.