Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-06-2015, 10:28 PM   #1

Input on cold camping with my 28 DSBH

Hey Guys,

Im still in my first year with my 28 DSBH and need some input on cold camping.
This is my first TT and I got it mostly for work use. I travel to various job sites in the spring and fall and have used it alot this spring in the cold. Mine does have the glacier package and I was expecting it to do better and be built more for the cold than it seems to be. Just last night it seen temps in the mid teens and something totally froze up as I had no hot water at all and only cold in the Kitchen. To prepar for those temps I did unhook the city water and fill the fresh tank to use for a couple days. I did use the propain heat and I was under the impression it blows some heat underneth??

When looking around under it, it dosent seem to be set up for the cold. It is sealed however the low drain point and other various plumbing exposed under it dosent look to be ready for the cold at all, and I just saw for the first time today under it in the back it has 2 water valves that open and close, what in the world are those for?? I remeber seeing that video of them putting the eagle into sub zero temps and I think I was expecting the rig to be ready for such with the glacier package.

Im also seeing alot of sweating in the corners, along the ceiling to wall joints throughout and alot of wall sweating in the rear bunk areas to the point I question the insulation in there.

Any input is greatly appreciated,
Matthew
kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 10:47 PM   #2

I am guessing that the two valves in the rear are actually your low point drains. The ones nearer your axles are probably your drain valves for your FResh Water tank.