Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-25-2019, 11:20 AM   #1

Angry Road rage when towing

I have many years and miles of towing experience but usually with a tow vehicle that has been rated way higher than needed for what I was towing so I was abe to keep up or maybe a little over speed limit. Now I am looking at purchasing a Hummingbird with loaded up weight around 3300 lbs and towing it with a 4400 lb rated Audi Q5 so I will stay under 6o or 65. Have you all had any problems with car or truck drivers that get mad when you are going slow. Don’t want people passing real close or cutting me off because of road rage. And please don’t make this post about my Audi not being a decent tow vehicle unless you have actual experience with it or something close.
B RAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 11:41 AM   #2
Site Team

We've never had anyone get road rage toward us, and we run at 60 to 62 mph on interstates, where our speed limit is posted at 65. Even in PA, where we hit some posted at 70, they just blow by, or wait their turn and go around us. No horns, to fingers, or disgusted looks....yet.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 11:42 AM   #3

I always stay in the right lane unless I need to get in the left for turning.
If they want to get mad at me, that's fine, because I will never see them again anyway.
I have not had anyone cut me off, but I have had people get in front of me while merging on the highway doing slower speed then I was doing. I keep enough space between me and the vehicle in front of me.