Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-07-2015, 10:46 AM   #1

rotten floor 2005 jayfeather 165

hi, new to jayco, new to site. just looking for an educated guess on a leak problem.I'm in the process of purchasing in a couple of days,a 2005 165 that has almost half the floor end to end, soft, spongy, or downright gone. from an acquaintance, and for what I think is a reasonable price $1800. I'm a carpenter, and even though I'm 65, I think I can handle it and save the trailer. the roof ( TPO )looks and feels tight and sound with no soft spots. the walls, even all the way down to the floor show no signs of delamination of the layers. if you stood facing the fridge, the problem is to the left all the way to the tub, and under it, and just barely in part of the floor under the full bunk storage area. to the right of the fridge it goes quite wide to the front wall, and towards you a third of the width of the floor . some along the front wall about 8 inches wide. a very small amount under and behind the fridge along the wall. without getting too far ahead here I think there may be a leak at the tub / toilet, and another at the city water connection, the water tank, or something near there. the owners have removed a few things including the water tank. I plan to take out the stove / sink cabinet, the tub and surround, toilet, one bathroom wall and all of the dinette framing ( already done ) I thought then i'll carefully remove the vinyl,the rotted subfloor, clean it all up, and connect a hose and put water in the system. i'll also do what I can for a leak test all around the little bugger. I just thought that it all has to come out, and I could see the water, if at all possible when it's cleaned out. most of the kitchen area damage is all around the low point drains, and just around where the tank sits. one semblance of hole next to the tank had nothing g