Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-17-2022, 09:33 PM   #1

Winter Camping in Jay Feather Micro

Hey folks. I have a 2022 171BH and it includes the optional Heat Pads. I’m not an expert and don’t know how effective they are. Can I camp in Temperatures below freezing and the Heat Pads will keep the tanks from freezing? I just don’t know how effective they are. One friend told me the will only help if the temp drops below freezing during the night for a few hours. Another friend said I’d be fine if the temps were regularly below freezing. I’m not talking 0°, but rather teens and twenties. Thoughts from the more experienced? Thanks. Andy
McMullap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 04:20 AM   #2

We did plenty of cold weather camping when we lived in the midwest. Our experience is that your tank heaters will prevent freezing within the tank at the temperatures in your post.

The place likely to freeze is the discharge pipes from the tanks to the dump hose connection. The farther away from the tanks your coneection is increases the chance of freezing.

I used to wrap the discharge pipes with an electric pipe wrap (something like this: https://www.amazon.com/WRAP-Pipe-Hea.../dp/B0002YWM2I), and then stuff an old blanket in the vee the pipes made.

That worked well for us at temperatures into the 20's.

Edit: Much of it was done at Hueston Woods SP, Eastfork SP, Rocky Fork SP and Cowan Lake SP. All not too far south of you. When it was below freezing and Grumpy drove through the campground he probably thought we were crazy.
OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2022, 09:37 AM   #3

This is a fairly common topic. There is a lot of posts on this subject.

How cold do you plan to camp? Does your Micro have an enclosed underbelly? Do you plan to have an electric site?