Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2014, 10:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tooele
Posts: 4
28bhbe Wiring

I plugged a 100 watt inverter in the the cigarette plug near my t.v. Something blew and now the stereo, 12 volt plugs, and c/o tester will not power up. I checked the fuse and it is good. I have voltage before and after the fuse. Am I missing another fuse somewhere. The voltage drops somewhere from the panel to the plugs.

Thanks ahead of time
__________________

Chadand135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 09:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,006
Pulling the fuse box to check the wires behind might be an easy job. Also pull the stereo and check wires behind. Not sure how all that's arranged in your TT but in our 23B all that came to pretty much the same location behind the stereo.
__________________

__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 10:10 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
Welcome to JOF

Check and see if there is a fuse behind the receptacle plug cover where you plugged in the inverter.

Bob
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 10:34 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tooele
Posts: 4
There is not a fuse behind the plug. I pulled all 3 devices in that circuit out and checked the voltage . The voltage is not at the plugs it drops somewhere between after the panel and the plugs.


I will see if Jayco will give me a wiring diagram ...

Thanks for the responses
Chadand135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 10:40 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
Let us know what you find as a resolution.

On Edit: Could there be a GFCI receptacle wired into the circuit ?? But that's 110v.

Bob
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:01 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
Where you connected to shore power, or just running off the battery when the inverter was plugged in??
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:06 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tooele
Posts: 4
Just running off of battery. I was using the same inverter in the other 12 volt plug for the previous 2 days. Went to go plug it in to the plug by the tv and it immediately stopped working taking everything else in that circuit with it.
Chadand135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:09 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
Is your TT still under warranty?
__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:12 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tooele
Posts: 4
Yes.. Would rather not take It in ... 3 hours away 7mpg . Hopefully they have a tech that walk me thru the repair. My uncle is the sales manager at Camping World so I am hoping that will help.
Chadand135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:18 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Rustic Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 7,370
The reason I ask is that Jayco is reluctant to provide electrical diagrams while an RV is under warranty..., outside of warranty they send diagrams right out.

Contacting your Jayco dealer "service tech" he will have access to the wiring diagrams if Jayco direct doesn't come through, at least he can tell you what else is in the circuit.

Bob
__________________

__________________

2016 GM 2500HD 6.0L/4.10
2018 Jay Flight 24RBS
2005 Jayco Eagle 278FBS (retired)
1999 Jayco Eagle 246FB (retired)
Reese HP Dual Cam (integrated sway control)
Rustic Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.