Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2014, 04:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southwest Florida
Posts: 748
Thanks, everybody. I feel better about using one now.
__________________

OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:27 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
There is absolutely NO safety issue in using an 50 amp to 30 amp adapter.

Another thought that seems to escape most people is the pedestal breakers are not there to protect you or your equipment but only to protect the campground equipment.

Your equipment protection is supplied in your camper by its 30 amp breaker (or 50 amp).

If you are really concerned about protecting your equipment you should consider investing in an EMS (Energy Management System). These can be pricey but still cheaper than replacing your air conditioner should you get exposed to high or low voltage.
__________________

__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 02:29 PM   #13
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 567
We have been using one for years with no problems at many rv parks. If there is problem with the 30 amp cord the 50 amp breaker on the hookup post will blow. Most electrical wires can handle at least double the amps they are rated for with no problems. That is a built in safety factor. FWI, the adapter is only hooked to one 50 amp leg (there are two) so one doesn't have to worry about losing the neutral and getting 240v. I always use an electrical tester to test the circuit before plugging in. One can get one online or at Home Deport for example for about $7. I also have a voltmeter I plug in to test the voltage. If it is too high or low one needs to know this before "frying" stuff.
wwsmith111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:01 PM   #14
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
50 amp to 30 amp adapter?

The dog one adapter should be with you. I have an assortment to adapt any thing to my rig. The amp draw is determined by the load. Feeding it with 50a service that is properly adapted is a common practice.

You can buy the adapters most anywhere that sells R V supplies for less than 15 bucks.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:16 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,115
I bought a dog bone adapter at the advice of a friend when we first bought our TT. On the 5th or 6th outing, we were hooked into a spot that had 50 and 30A outlets. I was on the 30A feed and all went well the first day but the next morning the A/C tried to kick on and we lost power at the pedestal. The CG attendendant came over with a multimeter and could figure out why our 30A feed failed when the two sites next to us were fine. We used the adapter on the 50A outlet...it kept us tearing down and moving to another site.
__________________
2013 26BH w/ 4 plain rims and some rust
2001 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 gasser
Black Bear programmed ECM
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 05:38 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
With my first TT, I always plugged into the 30 amp at the pedestal. I ended up replacing the end of my power cord twice as it was slowly burning away. When I purchased my Jayco, I said something about it to the dealer. He suggested the adapter, and my plug still looks new.
__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 05:53 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
carlharsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Medford
Posts: 20
I've used one at my home for years. Perfectly safe. Have 2 of them now that I don't use since going to a 50 amp coach.
__________________
2008 Jayco Seneca HD GS35. Duramax 6.6 engine on the Kodiak chassis.
carlharsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:35 PM   #18
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,064
The main reason you have problems with a 30a pedestal is most rigs use them an draw max current. The pedestal plugs get worn from use and heat up, melting the conductors or tripping at less than 30a. Over time they will self destruct.
CG's should replace the plugs and breakers but most don't.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.