Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2015, 07:45 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
Did you opt for this used one or another/new one? Price?

I thought $25 (with a return policy) was a good deal, much better than the normal $60-$80, up to $180.
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:43 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Wading River
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrascal View Post
Coincidentally just last evening I purchased a used digital RV (2 speed fan) thermostat, for $25 (+ $8 S&H). This morning when I reviewed this purchase I find the ebay seller has posted another one - with the same option to "make an offer". I suggest giving him a try.

My original purchase here: RV Coleman Mach Thermostat RV Comfort HC Black | eBay

Notice along the top it says "The seller has relisted this item or one like this." Click on it and see if he'll accept your bid.

EDIT: I now find that you can go directly there by clicking the above blue "relisted this item". Then if interested, make an offer.

The first 2 white pics are my original (inaccurate) stat; the 2 black pics are what I've purchased. The original stat uses 6 wires soldered onto the board; I will snip them off then connect to the new stat wires using electrical nuts, matching color for color. I will post results next week once received.


wrascal,
I have made the switch from the original T-stat to the Digital Coleman model, like you have pictured, and we have not been happier!. The digital unit is much more accurate, it cycles the AC/Heat when the temp is +/- 3 degrees from the setpoint. The original style would allow for approx a 10-degree differential from the setpoint. Enjoy your new temperature controller.....you will no longer need to throw your blankets off when it gets too hot, and then pull them back up (20-minutes later) when it gets too cold -sound familiar??
__________________

mdany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 08:47 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
We don't generally spend much time inside so it wasn't previously noted, UNTIL this past week when we were stuck inside (rain) 4 days with two youngsters and two dogs. What I discovered was when warm (or cold) I couldn't just bump the temp setting, it needed a major movement to kick things in. That of course led to frequent trips to correct the prior adjustment.
__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 04:21 PM   #14
Site Team
 
WVDusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Charleston
Posts: 1,549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrascal View Post
Did you opt for this used one or another/new one? Price?

I thought $25 (with a return policy) was a good deal, much better than the normal $60-$80, up to $180.
Used. To good of a price to pass up!!
__________________
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/re...%3A_douuy_o5dq

TV 2005 Ram 3500 CC LB SRW Cummins POWER
2014 Jayco Jayflight 32BHDS Prodigy P3 brake controller.Reese dual cam 1400/14000
WVDusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 11:33 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
Earlier this morning I received the thermostat, dusty. When I opened the two part plastic shell I noticed it's missing the fuse; what makes that bad is it's not labeled as to what the fuse specs are (volts/amps).


Anyone here care to peek at a similar stat fuse and advise? Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
AR7853-4.jpg  
__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 12:21 PM   #16
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,047
2a 250v
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:37 PM   #17
Site Team
 
WVDusty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Charleston
Posts: 1,549
Good to no. Thanks wrascal and norty!!!
__________________
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/re...%3A_douuy_o5dq

TV 2005 Ram 3500 CC LB SRW Cummins POWER
2014 Jayco Jayflight 32BHDS Prodigy P3 brake controller.Reese dual cam 1400/14000
WVDusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 04:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
I just realized the word play there; when I said dusty I was describing its appearance, not addressing Dusty.

I checked my original stat and it had a 2A/250V fuse in it, however it was one of the physically smaller ones - and I needed one of the older larger glass tube ones. I rummaged thru my junk pile and found a 2A/32V of the correct physical size.

Popped this alternate fuse in and wired things up; it all appears to be working now but do want to get the correct fuse. I observed a two degree swing (from room temp) to get things activated (both heat and air) and checked that the dual fan speeds work as they should. And just to harass some folks, the room/outdoor temp was a cool 75*.


Additional info, when I pulled the old stat unit and stated pulling the 6 wires from the wall I had lots of slack - then I found inside the wall they were already tied with electrical nuts. The only non-problem was the trailers wire colors were not all consistent. I just installed the new stat to the same house wires as the original stat was, doing only one wire (matching stat colors) at a time so as to not loose track of anything.

Maybe twenty minutes.
__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 06:34 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 1,354
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrascal View Post
Maybe twenty minutes.
We did this mod about 2 years ago and you're right, it was a short 20 minutes to complete. Couldn't be happier.
__________________
2012 Eagle 320 RLDS
2017 Ford F-250 6.2l
3.73 E-locker
TCNashville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 09:46 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
Just a follow-up. As the eBay seller was unable/unwilling to provide the correct/necessary fuse he decided to offer a complete refund and said keep it. Within one hour I was able to confirm with Coleman Recreational Vehicles that it uses the previously reported 2A/250V fuse.

Now I just gotta get over to Radio Shack; we've got two, each about 15 miles distance, that survived the recent shut-down.

And I gave him an excellent review for his generous solution.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/RV-COLEMAN-M...torefresh=true
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2007, air, eagle, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.