Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-24-2020, 03:17 PM   #1

Battery disconnect to save battery

I was told by a Good Sam tech support person over the phone, that I should disconnect the positive terminal on my RV battery if I don't want to have the battery drained while sitting in my driveway for an extended period of time.

I did that, and put a piece of electrical tape over the wire's bare connector (o-ring?).

However I've seen online that the recommendation is to first disconnect the negative terminal! I'm no electrician, can someone tell me if what I did was wrong?
bobuva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 03:33 PM   #2
CAG

Negative. Among other reasons, if the negative for some reason, moves and touches metal it is not going to spark and start a fire. Just the negative needs to be disconnected and a better choice would be to install a disconnect switch.

CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 05:01 PM   #3

Agree with CAG.

2020 North Point 315RLTS
Ram 3500/Aisin CC, SB, SRW, Superglide
Firestone Ride-Rite Air bags, TST507 TPMS
DrSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 06:24 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
Negative. Among other reasons, if the negative for some reason, moves and touches metal it is not going to spark and start a fire. Just the negative needs to be disconnected and a better choice would be to install a disconnect switch.
I have an appointment to get a battery switch installed at the end of this month. In the meantime, do you suggest that I first re-connect the positive cable (which I disconnected earlier) and then disconnect the negative?

Thanks,
Bob
bobuva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2020, 06:46 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobuva View Post