Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2015, 11:31 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hillsborough County
Posts: 20
Bedroom Outlets Loosing Power

I have a 2016 Starcraft (part of Jayco) trailer. It has two AC outlets in the bedroom. Sometimes both loose power. When it happens, everything else on that circuit still has power.

Here's what I found out so far. They are the same circuit breaker as the frig and GFCI outlets in the kit, bath and outside.

The GFCI is in the bath. If I trip it, I loose power to the bath, kit and outside. The frig and bedroom still have power.

I have quite a bit of electrical experience and know the dealer isn't likely to fix this on the first try, which is why I'm working on it.

I'm wondering if anyone has an idea where Jayco/Starcraft usually connects non-GFCI outlets into a circuit with GFCI outlets?
__________________

moallen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 12:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JohnWedell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Moriches
Posts: 309
I had a 2015 285fb with the same problem. There was a dead short in the underbelly by the entrance steps. The dealer ran a new wire and said it was about to short in another area. The wire was being pinched where they ran it. I would let a qualified dealer repair it.
__________________

JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 01:05 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Tucson
Posts: 74
Some GFCI's are more "sensitive" than others. This doesn't sound logical, but if a GFCI is repeatedly tripped and reset it can become more likely to trip again due to a variety of metal fatigue. I'm likely to get some disagreement on this. However, if there is an ever so slightly "loose" wiring connection to the next receptacle down stream from the GFCI, a repeating "trip" situation can be the result.
The above info is based on my own experience and is not meant to be scientific electrical theory.
ranchosinvacas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 04:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
klpoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hamilton/Cincinnati
Posts: 240
Only thing I can think is that the circuit is split at or near the fridge. Sounds like the line for GFCI goes one way and the line to the bedroom goes to another. May be a loose connection either at the split or at the first bedroom plug in that line.
__________________
2014 Jayflight Swift 264BH
2015 Ford F150 XLT 4x4 SCrew 3.5 EcoBoost Max Tow
Equalizer 10K
klpoppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 07:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
JohnWedell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Moriches
Posts: 309
He said it was not a gfci protected line. Just for the record what model is it.
JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 07:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,395
My trailer has several down stream 120VAC receptacles from an installed GFCI receptacle.

If the GFCI receptacle trips the down stream receptacles also loses AC power.

If you don't want these to do this then you will have to rewire the 120VAC receptacles to a different 120VAC source. Most of the trailer 120VAC Receptacles are doing the so called 'daisy chain' wiring concept.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 09:50 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,937
My fridge and outside outlet are on the GFI protected circuit so when the GFI trips I loose my fridge and it switches over to gas. The auto switch over is good so that if this happens while you're away, you are not going to have a problem with food in the fridge. On the otherhand, really wish that Jayco would put the fridge on its own breaker so that it is not affected by a GFI or a trip from excess draw on another outlet.

Have noticed this on a number of occasions when powering up the fridge at home as we are packing for a trip. Guessing that the GFI tripped from weather while on the pad at home. No problem because the fridge is turned off unless we are using the TT. If your fridge will only run on gas, CHECK THE GFI RESET.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 02:16 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
klpoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hamilton/Cincinnati
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnWedell View Post
He said it was not a gfci protected line. Just for the record what model is it.
I know that... That's why I figured the GFCI line was branched from the fridge one way the the bedroom the other. Possible but not optimal way of wiring the circuit.
__________________
2014 Jayflight Swift 264BH
2015 Ford F150 XLT 4x4 SCrew 3.5 EcoBoost Max Tow
Equalizer 10K
klpoppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 03:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
VicS1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 517
I can understand why RV's are wired the way they are to save the cost of additional GFCI's. One problem for users is that the builders often include the outside receptacles which are more susceptible to moisture problems tripping a GFI.

Not that anyone asked...

It would not be a great problem to re-wire to separate the receptacles to individual GFI's. It will not necessarily be cheap though. The wiring itself doesn't need to be changed at all. The first existing GFI receptacle can be changed to stand alone and then individual GFCI receptacles could be installed to replace all the receptacles which were originally fed by feed through. The refrigerator should then remain unaffected by other circuit issues.


I agree that some GFI's are more sensitive than others. I don't believe that the solid state monitoring circuits which protect them are affected by metal fatigue. Keep in mind that all the leakage on a GFCI circuit is additive. Any existing leakage anywhere will be counted so that can make it seem "more sensitive".

FWIW. vic
VicS1950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 09:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by VicS1950 View Post
It would not be a great problem to re-wire to separate the receptacles to individual GFI's. It will not necessarily be cheap though. The wiring itself doesn't need to be changed at all. The first existing GFI receptacle can be changed to stand alone and then individual GFCI receptacles could be installed to replace all the receptacles which were originally fed by feed through. The refrigerator should then remain unaffected by other circuit issues.
You cannot put multiple GFCI's on a single circuit, they don't play well together. One or all of them will trip and not reset.
__________________

__________________
2011 Skylark 21FKV
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.