Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-29-2012, 05:25 PM   #1

Brake Adjustment

I think I need to adjust my brakes on the trailer. I am getting a surging happening on light brake applications at slow speed like rolling up to a stop light. I have been towing around for two years with no adjustments done. Does this article sound like the right way to do it? I am mechanicaly inclined it has just been awhile since I have done stuff like this so it will come back once I get going.

http://www.rverscorner.com/Trailer_Brakes.html

66 nights in 2016
61 nights in 2015
Derek700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:35 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

They have a good video on YouTube, search Electric Trailer Brakes.
That write up is pretty spot on, except I've always been taugh to adjust to a slight drag, not completely free wheeling.
Best regards, Doug
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:52 PM   #3

I adjusted mine with good results last week. Tighten the shoes against the lining until the wheel is hard to turn - takes a decent effort with one hand - but not locked up. That makes sure both shoes are contacting the drum. Back it off 2 or 3 clicks and you should be okay.
OnTheGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:28 PM   #4
Site Team

I would suggest making some minor adjustments on your brake controller if you have that option. It may be a quicker first step than adjusting the brakes. My rig has auto adjusting brakes but they can be manually adjusted if needed.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 01:55 PM   #5