Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2020, 06:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Timmins
Posts: 8
Cell Booster through Cable Input

Quick question:

Is there anything preventing me from using the coaxial cable for the satellite/cable on the outside of the trailer for a cellphone booster instead? Thanks.
KyleRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 06:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 689
I'm not clear on what you're asking

Can you give a little more detail on what you want to do?
__________________
IanP, the man from Scotland
Julie, the Lady From Little Rock

Jay Feather 19XUD, pushing a Jeep Grand Cherokee
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 06:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Swift Current
Posts: 159
Should work fine. My coax in my trailer is RG6, I would assume yours is as well.
__________________
2015 Ram 2500 Limited 6.4L Hemi, 3.73 LS
2007 Jay Feather 254 EXP "HMCS Anchovy" :Canada:
smurfs_of_war is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 06:43 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Timmins
Posts: 8
Yeah, sorry,

I basically want to use one of these: Cell Phone Boosters

But instead of drilling a coaxial cable through the trailer, I was hoping I could just use the cable/satellite in on the exterior of the trailer for the antenna and connect the interior portion of the repeater where it comes into the trailer. Since I don't use cable/satellite, I was hoping this was a functional use for that.

Hopefully that make sense.
KyleRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 06:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Home of the Walking Dead
Posts: 823
I have experimented with it and found the reception the same as wired directly to the antenna. I just used reception as a gauge. No meters or test equipment. Never went farther because I want to be able to hook up to cable when available. I have satellite prep on the roof but cant seem to find directions or advice on how to expose the wires. Got measurements of where to find it but no further directions. Started a thread asking but no help. This is the direction I want to go but I just haven't gotten the nerve to go farther.
__________________
2016 Melbourne 24K
2013 Sprinter crew cargo used for work now
2002 Toyota MR2 Spyder as a Toad
Pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 06:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 3,361
I can't speak specifically to what you are asking but, I recently ripped all the coax out of my trailer after getting frustrated with an aftermarket satellite system I was trying to get operational.

I found some serious head scratching routing of existing cable, some yet to be explained splitters, and about 50 feet of bunched up coax zip tied behind a wall.

I ran all new runs of solid copper RG 6 for both satellite and cable TV as well as quality F Connectors and new inputs.

My reception / satellite issues have vanished. If you are going to try and use the existing wire I would be aware that there may be similar issues in your camper.
__________________
2016 28BHBE
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Marineco Detachable Shore Cord
CRE 3000 Equalizer / Wet Bolt Kit
Equalizer 4 Point WDH
2016 Ford F250 6.2 Gasser
Air Lift Rear Bags w/ On Board Compressor
Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 07:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Winchester
Posts: 82
Assuming everything is ran correctly it should work. I have multiple coax outlets in my living room. I unhooked 1 of them from the splitter and used that line for my home booster. It worked great. I used a Weboost booster. My home is much like an RV in that I have steel roof and siding. I would go from 4g outside to nothing inside. With the booster I can now get 4g inside the house.
Adios Pantelones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 07:35 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 689
Yes

Both booster antennae and cable TV coax are normally RG6, same characteristics, so you should be good to go...

You might, however want to check the connector styles... cable TV uses a Type F connector, and some boosters use a Type N.

Try to keep the cable run as short as possible, with as few "joints" as you can - and that includes adaptors, etc.
__________________
IanP, the man from Scotland
Julie, the Lady From Little Rock

Jay Feather 19XUD, pushing a Jeep Grand Cherokee
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 07:44 AM   #9
Member
 
ChiToones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 35
If you do purchase this unit, please post an update/review of how it works for you. I'd also like to get a booster and am looking at the weBoost and SureCall. At a third of the cost, the ProuTone might be a better option.
__________________
Rod and Pam
2018 Jay Flight SLX8 212QB
2018 Durango GT V6
Husky Centerline TS

ChiToones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 08:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 689
Just to follow up on my own post...

The Proutone unit that you linked, has "N" Type connectors.
These are not the same as the cable TV points on the outside or inside of our trailer, so you will either need 2 adaptors or 2 "hybrid" cables, N to F.

The cables would be preferable, as the two adaptors will introduce more signal losses
__________________
IanP, the man from Scotland
Julie, the Lady From Little Rock

Jay Feather 19XUD, pushing a Jeep Grand Cherokee
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 09:52 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Timmins
Posts: 8
I had not considered this, thought it was coaxial. I guess I'll have to route a hole somewhere and silicone it or just run it through a window and disconnect it while I'm gone.... Any suggestions?
KyleRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 09:56 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Timmins
Posts: 8
I'll let you know how it works. I did make sure it was the right one for the towers near me so hopefully it works well once I figure out how I'm going to wire it into the trailer.
KyleRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 10:13 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
GABob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 226
Iíve been debating going with either a cell booster or the Nighthawk M1 MiMo setup. In either case I want to use external antennas. I really donít want to drill holes in the RV, so Iím trying to evaluate options. One idea I had is to install a SS plate on top of the plastic fridge housing on the roof, and then use a magnetic base antenna. Would allow me to move when I store the RV. Thinking of running the cable down the side of the awning arm, and then into the fridge vent on the side. This would allow me to run the cable up the side wall and mount the unit on the other side. Heck, I could then even sore it behind the plastic fridge cover when I part it between trips.
__________________
2019 Entegra Odyssey 31L
GABob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 10:47 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Sandy Utah & Kingman AZ and in our Seneca everywhere else.
Posts: 2,272
I looked up the booster... Looks like it uses a 50-ohm impedance cabling.

Note that RG-6 is 75-ohm.
__________________
Steve & Stacy,
Ned and Ellie (Red Labrador, Border Collie/Boxer)
2015 Seneca 36FK
2007 Toyota FJC - on the trailer
2020 Coors Light - in the fridge

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 10:57 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Timmins
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloPoke View Post
I looked up the booster... Looks like it uses a 50-ohm impedance cabling.

Note that RG-6 is 75-ohm.
Yes, I will have to route the cable somehow as my original plan will obviously not work.... All things I should of looked into prior. I may just return the product and enjoy my limited spotty service . The idea of routing wires or drilling a hole sounds altogether unpleasant.
KyleRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 11:00 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloPoke View Post
I looked up the booster... Looks like it uses a 50-ohm impedance cabling.

Note that RG-6 is 75-ohm.

That's a good catch!


Will it *work* - yeah probably.
Will it be optimal - will it send the most amount of signal down the line? Probably not.


Plus the other comments about splitters in line, length of runs, kinks, loops - all could degrade the signal.




All of that said - I'd probably *try* it and see if I get acceptable results.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 11:11 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
WeRJuliian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Sarasota
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloPoke View Post
I looked up the booster... Looks like it uses a 50-ohm impedance cabling.
Good catch, I missed that
WeRJuliian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 06:39 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Wainwright
Posts: 27
As a ham radio guy, I would not mix the cell phone and rg6 cables. Using the 75 ohm cable might work but instantly gives you an SWR of 1.5:1. You want it as close to 1:1 as possible.

What brought me here was my search for a way into my RV with my cell phone booster. I would lile to mount it on top of the ladder and put the booster in the A/V cabinet under the TV. Im thinking of drilling up through the bottom in to the cabinet. We have a 26.5 BHS so there should be no plumbing close by. Maybe propane but I will pull back the underside and look. If anyone can think of a reason not to go this route let me know.
VE6CPU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 08:09 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by VE6CPU View Post
What brought me here was my search for a way into my RV with my cell phone booster. I would lile to mount it on top of the ladder and put the booster in the A/V cabinet under the TV. Im thinking of drilling up through the bottom in to the cabinet. We have a 26.5 BHS so there should be no plumbing close by. Maybe propane but I will pull back the underside and look. If anyone can think of a reason not to go this route let me know.

Do you have a fridge vent on your roof? This is where I mounted my cell booster, and it was easy to run the coax down the vent shaft and into the upper cabinets in the kitchen area.
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 08:54 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 326
Please, Please let me know if this improves your Cell Phone signal. And will it work on AT&T and Verison ? My e-mail is (a125b@Bellsouth.net). I have been looking at these for a few months, your answer will be appreciated...
Florida Ranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.